Newstalk named Station of the Year at PPI awards

Ger Gilroy also named Sports Broadcaster of the Year

Newstalk has been named Station of the Year award at the PPI national radio awards this year.

Off the Ball's Ger Gilroy meanwhile took the award for Sports Broadcaster of the Year at the ceremony, which took place at the Lyrath Hotel in Kilkenny last Friday night.

Newstalk has previously won Station of the Year five times, most recently in 2011.

Newstalk Breakfast presenter Chris Donoghue with station manager Garrett Harte

 75 judges from Ireland and the UK had the task of selecting the finest in their field from a record number of entries - over 600 - from almost every station broadcasting in the country.

Ger Gilroy is named Sports Broadcaster of the Year

36 awards were handed out at the 13th Phonographic Performance Ireland awards.

While broadcaster Ian Dempsey received the 'Outstanding Achievement' award. He joins luminaries such as Michéal Ó Muircheartaigh, Jimmy Magee, Marian Finucane, Des Whelan, Gay Byrne, Larry Gogan, Mario Rosenstock, and Fiona Stack.

Commentating at the start of the evening Chief Executive PPI Dick Doyle said "It’s been a great experience taking the PPIs from a germ of an idea to where we are today – the premier event in the radio industry calendar and the most sought-after accolade in Irish radio broadcasting".