Dublin reign in Leinster again

Strong second half performance finally quells brave Meath

Dublin reign in Leinster again

Dublin have beaten Meath by a score of 2-15 to 0-14 to win the Leinster football championship for the seventh time in eight years.

Meath started brightly, with two early points opening up a lead. However, a quick response from Dublin with a Paul Flynn goal saw Meath’s early dominance erased. The game went according to the form book for most of the first half, but a late surge from Meath meant they went in two points to the good.

Dublin reversed the gap early in the second half but Meath stayed with them until Paul Mannion’s goal after an hour put a clear gap between the sides and signalled the end of Meath’s challenge.