Aidan Turner to return in ‘Poldark’ as BBC announces third season

The debut series peaked with 9.4 million viewers

Aidan Turner, Poldark, BBC, third season, BBC One, BAFTA

Aidan Turner plays Ross Poldark | Image: BBC

Irish actor Aidan Turner is to return to our TV screens for a third series of the BBC drama ‘Poldark.’

Series two of the show, which is coming soon to BBC One, stars Turner as Ross Poldark in ten new episodes adapted by Debbie Horsfield from the novels by Winston Graham.

And as the drama hits screens across the Ireland and the UK, filming will commence on season three.

Production company Mammoth Screen has confirmed that Ms Horsfield will be writing further episodes, which will be filmed in Cornwall and Bristol later this year.

These are set to be broadcast in 2017.

The show follows Poldark after he returns from the American War of Independence.

The debut series peaked with 9.4 million viewers across TV and the BBC iPlayer.

It also won the Radio Times Audience Award at this year’s BAFTAs.

Mammoth Screen managing director, Damien Timmer, says: "Poldark is a passion project for all of us, and it's with real excitement that we prepare for both the launch of series two and our return to Cornwall to shoot series three.”

“Winston Graham and Debbie Horsfield's extraordinary flair for storytelling means the saga of Ross, his friends and enemies will go to even more thrilling places.”

Executive producer for the BBC, Elizabeth Kilgarriff, adds: "Series two promises to take the audience on another fantastic rollercoaster ride and we're thrilled to know that the story won't end there.”

“It's a testament to Debbie's brilliant storytelling and the passion of the Mammoth team that Poldark will be returning for a third series, with yet more twists and turns for these much-loved characters”.

The third series will be produced by Roopesh Parekh and Michael Ray, and directed by Josh Agnew and Stephen Woolfenden.

Ms Horsfield continues to serve as executive producer - alongside Tom Mullens, Karen Thrussell, Damien Timmer and Elizabeth Kilgarriff.