The feature would essentially recall sent messages
We've all done it: sent a text message to the wrong person or group in WhatsApp.
But now reports say the text message service is set to launch a feature that would allow users to delete sent messages.
WABetaInfo says the 'Delete for Everyone' feature would essentially recall the sent message and remove it from a receiver's notifications as well.
According to screenshots, a deleted message will be replaced with the phrase: "This message was deleted".
WhatsApp for Android: when the sender deletes the message for everyone, it will be updated in the Notification Center too [AVAILABLE SOON] pic.twitter.com/69fFUrXl35— WABetaInfo (@WABetaInfo) September 12, 2017
Reports say the recall server is working and successfully deleting messages.
DELETE FOR EVERYONE NEWS!— WABetaInfo (@WABetaInfo) September 12, 2017
[AVAILABLE SOON!] pic.twitter.com/GQ6eqbNvSn
However most users do not have access to the feature.
It is thought they will have to wait until the messenger, which is owned by Facebook, enables it for everyone.
The company says more than one billion people in over 180 countries use WhatsApp to stay in touch.
The app was founded by Jan Koum and Brian Acton and was bought by Facebook in 2014.
However it continues to operate as a separate app.