Cabinet re-shuffle: Who's in and who's out?

Leo Varadkar was elected Taoiseach for a second term following the resignation of Micheál Martin
Jack Quann
Jack Quann

16.55 17 Dec 2022

Share this article

Cabinet re-shuffle: Who's in a...

Cabinet re-shuffle: Who's in and who's out?

Jack Quann
Jack Quann

16.55 17 Dec 2022

Share this article

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar has announced his new Cabinet to the Dáil.

Mr Varadkar was elected for a second term in office earlier following the resignation of Micheál Martin, who is now Tánaiste.

Most of the main players are remaining in their roles.


The newly-announced Cabinet led by Taoiseach Leo Varadkar. Picture by: Government Information Service

Despite speculation Health Minister Stephen Donnelly keeps his portfolio, as does Housing Minister Darragh O'Brien.

Micheál Martin is to take over as Foreign Affairs and Defence Minister, with Simon Coveney going to Enterprise, Trade and Employment.

Micheál Martin speaks to Newstalk at the Fianna Fáil think-in. Micheál Martin moves to Foreign Affairs and Defence. Picture by: Newstalk

Jack Chambers moves to become Super Junior Minister at the Department of Transport and retains a place at Cabinet.

Charlie McConalogue remains as Agriculture Minister, and Norma Foley stays in Education.

Michael McGrath has become Finance Minister, with Paschal Donohoe moving to Public Expenditure.

Paschal Donohoe moves to the newly-named Public Expenditure, NDP Delivery and Reform department, while Michael McGrath is Minister for Finance. Picture by: Julien Behal Photography

Helen McEntee is to be Minister Without Portfolio, with Simon Harris taking on the Justice portfolio while she is on maternity leave.

Minister Harris will also remain in his Higher Education role.

Rossa Fanning is the new Attorney-General, with Fine Gael's Hildegarde Naughten becoming Chief Whip.

Green Party leader Eamon Ryan stays in the Department of the Environment

All Green Party TDs are staying in their current briefs.

Eamon Ryan remains in Environment, Climate, Communications and Transport - and Catherine Martin stays as Minister for Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media.

A tweaking of some government departments was also announced.

The Department of Public Expenditure and Reform has become the Department of Public Expenditure, National Development Plan Delivery and Reform.

Ministers met at Áras an Uachtaráin after receiving their seals of office from President Michael D Higgins.

Cabinet in full

  • Taoiseach Leo Varadkar
  • Tánaiste and Departments of Foreign Affairs and Defence Micheál Martin
  • Department of Environment, Climate, Communications and Transport Eamon Ryan
  • Department of Finance Michael McGrath
  • Department of Public Expenditure, NDP Delivery and Reform Paschal Donohoe
  • Department of Enterprise, Trade and Employment Simon Coveney
  • Department of Education Norma Foley
  • Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media Catherine Martin
  • Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage Darragh O’Brien
  • Department of Social Protection, Rural and Community Development Heather Humphreys
  • Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine Charlie McConalogue
  • Department of Children, Equality, Disability, Integration and Youth Roderic O’Gorman
  • Department of Health Stephen Donnelly
  • Department of Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science and the Department of Justice Simon Harris
  • Minister Without Portfolio Helen McEntee (maternity leave)
  • Attorney-General Rossa Fanning
  • Minister of State in the Department of the Taoiseach as Government Chief Whip Hildergarde Naughton
  • Minister for International and Road Transport & Logistics at the Department of Transport, as well as Minister for Postal Policy at the Department of the Environment, Climate and Communications Jack Chambers
  • Minister for Land Use and Biodiversity at the Department of Agriculture Senator Pippa Hackett

Additional reporting by: Sean Defoe

Main image: Leo Varadkar waves to the media and reporters before he leaves the Dáil to begin the changing of the government. Picture by: Sasko Lazorov/

Share this article

Read more about

Cabinet Re-shuffle Charlie McConalogue Darragh O'Brien Department Of Public Expenditure Helen McEntee Jack Chambers Leo Varadkar Micheál Martin Norma Foley Rossa Fanning Simon Harris Stephen Donnelly Taoiseach Leo Varakar

Most Popular