Rent caps set to be introduced in 15 new areas around the country

Five cities have already been designated as "rent pressure zones" - however Simon Coveney believes the legislation will now be extended elsewhere

Rent caps set to be introduced in 15 new areas around the country

Simon Coveney speaks to the media in Dublin 07/04/2016. Image: Brian Lawless PA Archive/PA Images

The Minister for Housing has announced that rent caps could be introduced in 15 new areas within the coming weeks.

Five cities around the country were declared “rent pressure zones” as part of the government’s new rental strategy - introduced before Christmas.

Dublin, Cork, Limerick, Galway and Waterford have all been subject to rent caps since Christmas Eve.

The legislation limits rent increases in the zones to 4% every year.

It was reported at the time that the caps could be introduced in other towns and commuter areas following enquiries undertaken by the Residential Tenancies Board Ireland (RTB).

This evening, Minister Coveney confirmed the measures will be expanded as soon as there is enough hard data to confirm their eligibility.

“Data is already starting to come through that in my view will mean that we will be able to be looking at; at least 15 new areas in terms of local electoral areas,” he said.

“We will get assessments done of those areas quickly so that we can create new designations around rent pressure zones as quickly as we can.”