Winner of 2017 Tidiest Town title unveiled

870 towns and villages entered this year

Winner of 2017 Tidiest Town title unveiled

Image: Facebook/BirdhillTidyTowns

Birdhill in Co Tipperary has been named as Ireland’s Tidiest Town for 2017.

It took the top prize out of a record 870 towns and villages throughout the country that entered this year’s SuperValu National TidyTowns competition.

The announcement was made at a ceremony at The Helix in Dublin.

On hand to present the prizes was Rural and Community Development Minister Michael Ring and Martin Kelleher, managing director of SuperValu.

Birdhill, Co Tipperary also claimed the award of Ireland’s Tidiest Village.

Other winners included Clonakilty, Co Cork which received the award for Ireland’s Tidiest Small Town.

Westport, Co Mayo received the award of Ireland's Tidiest Large Town, while Ennis, Co Clare was again declared Ireland's Tidiest Large Urban Centre.

Image: Facebook/BirdhillTidyTowns

Speaking after the awards ceremony, Minister Ring said: "This is a fantastic achievement for Birdhill; a really worthy winner.

"Three other Tipperary villages have won this award, but it is the first time for Birdhill.

"The village has consistently entered the competition since 1991 and in the intervening years have steadily concentrated on all aspects of the SuperValu TidyTowns competition and today, all that effort has paid off."

Martin Kelleher, managing director at SuperValu, added: "In this, our 26th year as title sponsor of the SuperValu TidyTowns competition, we are incredibly proud of our long-standing involvement with this important community initiative.

"We are delighted to have been given the opportunity to build on our successful partnership through a renewed five-year sponsorship agreement that will ensure we continue to strengthen the profile of the competition as Ireland’s leading community initiative."

The TidyTowns competition is organised by the Department of Rural and Community Development, and sponsored by SuperValu who have sponsored the competition since 1992.

Full details of this year's competition can be found here