Terry Wogan to be honoured with posthumous award for Irish diaspora

The veteran broadcaster was named as a recipient of the Presidential Distinguished Service Award for the Irish Abroad

limerick, city, liam, galvin, mayor, terry, wogan

Image: RollingNews.ie

The late BBC Broadcaster Terry Wogan will be honoured for his contribution to the Irish diaspora as he has been named as a recipient for the Presidential Distinguished Service Award for the Irish Abroad for 2016.

Wogan passed away in January at the age of 77 after a short illness, and was universally-known having spent the majority of his career working with the BBC.

Born in Limerick in 1938, the broadcaster became a household name through his work on television presenting shows such as Blankety Blank, Children in Need and the Eurovision Song Contest, as well as his hugely popular BBC Radio 2 show Wake up to Wogan.

In a statement announcing the recipients of the prize, Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade Charlie Flanagan said that Wogan would be honoured with a posthumous award, and that "through his long and universally acclaimed broadcasting career, he always reflected all that is good about Ireland and the Irish community in Britain."

The Presidential Distinguished Service Award was established by the Government following the 2011 Global Irish Economic Forum as a means to recognise the contribution of members of the Irish diaspora and the first awards were made in 2012.

Other people who have been nominated for the awards this year include scientist Garret FitzGerald as well as human rights activists Brendan Fay and Kathleen Walsh D’Arcy. 

Minister for Diaspora Affairs and International Development, Joe McHugh T.D, added:

This year’s Presidential Distinguished Service Award recipients signify the breadth and richness of our diaspora.  They include those working with the most marginalised and vulnerable, those who have become the voice for those who have none."

The awards will be presented by President Micahel D. Higgins later this year. The full list of recipients of Presidential Distinguished Service Awards in 2016 are:

Arts, Culture and Sport
Angela Brady (UK)
Terry Wogan (Deceased - UK) - presented posthumously

Business and Education
Robert Kearns (Canada)
Gerald Lawless (UAE)

Charitable Works
Norman McClelland (US)

Irish Community Support
Nora Higgins (UK)
Brendan Fay (US)
Kathleen Walsh D’Arcy (US)

Peace, Reconciliation and Development
Martin Von Hildebrand (Colombia)
Sr. Mary Sweeney (Sierra Leone)

Science, Technology and Innovation
Garret FitzGerald (US)