Five things to know about winning the EuroMillions

Why we might never know Ireland's newest millionaire

Five things to know about winning the EuroMillions

File photo | Image:

Well the cat is almost out of the bag on Ireland's latest EuroMillions win.

We know that the €88.5m winning ticket was sold in an Applegreen motorway service station on the M1 in Lusk, Co Dublin.

And it was announced Thursday that the ticket was sold in Dublin, after much speculation.

But that could be where information about Ireland's newest millionaire ends

Here are some of the more interesting EuroMillions facts we have uncovered:

Can you stay anonymous if you have won?

Absolutely. There is no pressure on any winner to make themselves known publicly.

"Any winner has the right to remain private", a spokesman for the National Lottery told

"The decision to go public is the decision of the winner(s) alone".

Who makes up the EuroMillions?

Nine separate jurisdictions make up the EuroMillions.

The funds used are collected from the different countries.

These are the UK, Spain, France, Portugal, Belgium, Switzerland, Austria, Ireland and Luxembourg.

How is the money distributed?

The distribution of revenue from EuroMillions ticket sales is different depending on where you play.

For instance, each participating country's lottery has different rules on how much is set aside for good causes - and each government requires a different amount of duty on the income received.

In Ireland, two­-thirds of gaming revenue (sales minus prizes) goes to  good causes.

That is approximately 30c of every €1 spent.

Over €200m was generated for good causes in 2016, bringing the total amount raised since the establishment of the National Lottery to over €4.9bn.

What happens to unclaimed winnings?

Players have 90 days in which to claim their prize.

Any monies not claimed within that time become expired.

These are then used to promote the National Lottery, and to increase funds for good causes.

Who runs the Euromillions?

The Euromillions was launched in 2004 with only the UK, France and Spain taking part.

Ireland, Austria, Belgium, Luxembourg, Portugal and Switzerland joined later in the year.

It is run in each country by each respective national lottery group.

Premier Lotteries Ireland (PLI) is the current operator in Ireland.

It was awarded a 20-year licence to by the Irish Government in November 2014.