Ethiopia's Dereje Tulu wins Dublin City Marathon

Over 19,000 atheletes took part

Ethiopia's Dereje Tulu wins Dublin City Marathon


Updated: 12:07 October 30th

This year's Dublin City Marathon has been won by an athlete from Ethiopia.

Dereje Tulu crossed the line in a time of 2 hours 12 minutes and 8 seconds.

He was followed by the women's winner from Namibia Helalia Johannes who was just 20 minutes slower.

Up to 19,500 people took part in the SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon today.

The race is now the fourth largest event of its kind in Europe, with 5,700 international participants this year.

Record numbers have signed up for the race, representing an increase of 25% when compared with last year.

It has moved from its traditional October Bank Holiday Monday to a Sunday, and started on Fitzwilliam Square just before 9am.

The wheelchair racers set off first, followed by the elite athletes and other runners a short time later.

The marathon route runs along Patrick Street, down the quays, turning up Blackhall Place, before entering the Phoenix Park.

After visiting Castleknock and another section through the Park, the race passes through Dolphin's Barn, Crumlin, Terenure and Stillorgan – before heading back to the city centre.

The early finishers are expected to be crossing the line on Mount Street shortly after 11am.

Olympian Sonia O'Sullivan won the Dublin marathon back in 2000, and reminisced about how it feels on the start line with Dr. Ciara Kelly on Alive And Kicking.

"It's just a great feeling to do it", she said. "When the gun is fired, I think all the kind of nervous energy flows out of everybody."

Numerous road closures and restrictions are in place throughout the city centre, the Phoenix Park and on Dublin's southside, and will remain in place until this evening.

Dublin Bus is advising customers its real-time bus information system will be out of service today.

More than 20 routes will also be affected by the marathon, however, the race will not affect Luas services.

Runners’ progress throughout the race can be tracked on the race website.