People will soon be able to ‘silently’ leave WhatsApp groups.
WhatsApp owner Meta has announced three new updates this morning.
The ‘Leave Groups Silently’ update will allow users to exit groups without everyone involved knowing about it.
Instead, only the admins of a group will be notified of your exit. The feature is being rolled out to all users this month.
A second feature being rolled out this month will allow people to choose who can see when they’re online.
The company said: “Seeing when friends or family are online helps us feel connected to one another, but we’ve all had times when we wanted to check our WhatsApp privately.”
“For the times you want to keep your online presence private, we’re introducing the ability to select who can and can’t see when you’re online.”
Finally, the company is also blocking people from taking screenshots of ‘view-once’ messages – which are made to disappear after they have been viewed.
Meta said it is currently testing the new features and ‘looks forward to rolling it out to users soon.”
Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg said the company would “keep building ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations.”