Newstalk strikes gold at the 2016 PPI Radio Awards with five wins

Team 33 and Futureproof were among the winners on the night

Newstalk has won five Golds at this year's PPI awards, which took place in Kilkenny on Friday night.

Newstalk 106-108fm has won a total of 13 awards, including five highly coveted gold awards after receiving 22 nominations in total at this year's PPI Radio Awards ceremony.

Futureproof, Team 33, Joe Molloy, Sean Moncrieff and Newstalk Drama all took home the top prize in their categories at the annual ceremony.

Commenting on the awards, Tim Collins, Newstalk Chief Executive Officer said: "We are delighted to be awarded 13 awards on the year that we are celebrating 10 years as a national broadcaster. The PPI Radio awards are highly regarded within the industry, and we are proud to have won across so many different categories."

Garrett Harte, Newstalk Editor-in-Chief, further added that: "It is a very exciting time for Newstalk with our recently launched new primetime schedule in full swing, and now we are adding 13 PPI awards to our trophy shelf.

"The wins are a testament to the hard work and commitment of our team here at the station, we are dedicated to delivering the highest quality opinion-led news, analysis and entertainment. We are overjoyed to have our shows recognized as best in class."

Among the Newstalk Gold award winners was drama 'Goin' Straight'. Francesca Lalor, Series Producer of Documentary & Drama on Newstalk 106-108fm commented on the show's win, saying: “Each week, we broadcast the finest home-grown radio drama on Newstalk, reflecting the huge talent and craft of Irish radio producers.

"This award is further proof that the medium of radio drama is experiencing a renaissance in Ireland, as a growing, creative and hugely entertaining medium. We are delighted to be part of this movement."

Newstalk Gold Award winners:

  • Sports Programme: Team 33
  • Drama: Goin' Straight
  • Specialist Speech Programme: The Space Between Skeleton and Skin – Futureproof
  • Sports Broadcaster of the Year: Joe Molloy
  • Speech Broadcaster of the Year: Sean Moncrieff

Newstalk Silver Award winners

  • News Story: Paris Attacks
  • Sports Story: Digging into Doping
  • Documentary: A Boy From The North West – Susan Dennehy
  • Sports Broadcaster of the Year: Ger Gilroy

Newstalk Bronze Award winners

  • Sports Programme: Off the Ball Live
  • Magazine Programme: One Day in Galway - Moncrieff
  • Craoltóireacht le Gaeilge: Splanc ag Electric Picnic
  • Speech Broadcaster of the Year: Shane Coleman