NI's new power-sharing Executive has been formed

Seats were divided between the DUP and Sinn Féin after Independent unionist Claire Sugden was appointed Justice Minister

A new team of ministers have been appointed to the power sharing executive at Stormont.

Independent unionist MLA Claire Sugden is to become Northern Ireland's new justice minister, with the rest of the seats divided between MLAs from the DUP and Sinn Féin.

First Minister Arlene Foster nominated her DUP colleague Paul Givan as minister for the Department of Communities, Simon Hamilton as Minister for the Economy, and Peter Weir as Minister for Education.

Deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness nominated Sinn Féin's Michelle O'Neill for the Department of Health, Chris Hazzard as Minister for Infrastructure, Máirtín Ó Muilleoir as Minister for Finance, and Michelle McIlveen as Minister for Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs.

Alastair Ross of the DUP and Sinn Féin's Megan Fearon are Junior Ministers within the Executive Office.

The Ulster Unionist Party and Social Democratic and Labour Party are to form an opposition at Stormont.