Constituency Profile: Dublin Mid-West

Quick facts:

  • 4-seater
  • sitting TDs: Frances Fitzgerald (FG), Derek Keating (FG), Joanna Tuffy (LAB), Robert Dowd (LAB), 
  • Ministerial representation: Frances Fitzgerald, Fine Gael
  • Population: 110,427
  • 2011 poll topper: Joanna Tuffy, Labour 
  • Most likely loser: Joanna Tuffy, Labour
  • One to watch: Joanna Tuffy, Labour

Having just missed out on a seat in 2011, Sinn Féin’s Eoin Ó Broin is probably going to top the poll this time. The Coalition split the four seats between them in 2011, but will do well to retain two now.

Frances Fitzgerald should be OK, but Derek Keating will have his work cut out. He may be saved by the demise of Labour, who have recognised the reality of their situation by only running Joanna Tuffy (following Robert Dowd's decision to step aside) on the basis that only one seat can be won.

Fianna Fáil have made the perhaps misguided decision to go back to the old guard in former TD John Curran. The 2014 result would suggest that he will be hard pressed to return to the Dáil.

Given the demographics of the constituency, it is likely that another hard left candidate will make a breakthrough - with People Before Profit Alliance’s Gino Kenny the most likely beneficiary.

Possible result:

  • 2 FG
  • 1 SF (+1)
  • 1 AAA
  • 0 LAB (-2)

Ivan's take: Yates is calling the result as two for Fine Gael, one for Sinn Féin and one for the Anti-Austerity Alliance / People Before Profit grouping.

  • Patrick Akpoveta - IND More Info:

    Patrick Akpoveta isa youth worker from Adamstown. In 2014 he was youth coach of the year for his work with Adamstown Soccer Club in the National Volunteer Awards.

  • John Curran - FF More Info:

    John Curran lost his seat in the 2011 general election. He’d been elected in 2002 and retained the seat in 2007. In 2008 he was appointed a junior minister by Taoiseach Brian Cowen. In 2010 following a cabinet reshuffle he was made the Government Chief Whip – a position he held until the collapse of the Government in 2011. 

  • Frances Fitzgerald - FG More Info:

    Frances Fitzgerald was first elected as a TD for Dublin South East (now Dublin Bay South) in 1992, but lost her seat in 2002. She contested the 2007 election in Dublin Mid-West but did not win a seat, and took a seat in the Seanad and became the party leader there. She won a seat in Dublin Mid West in 2011 and was appointed to Cabinet in the new Children portfolio. She became Minister for Justice in 2014 following the resignation of Alan Shatter. 

  • Paul Gogarty - IND More Info:

    Paul Gogarty is a former Green Party TD. He was first elected to South Dublin County Council in 1999 and the Dáil in 2002 until he lost his seat in 2011. He allowed his membership of the Green Party lapse and stayed away from politics, attempting to launch a music career. He contested and won a seat again on the council in 2014, this time as an Independent. In September 2015 he was announced as an Independents Alliance candidate in the election. 

  • Christopher Healy - IND More Info:

    Christopher Healy is from Lucan and is running under the banner of Direct Democracy Ireland. He has worked in Aer Lingus for 27 years.

  • Lorraine Hennessy - IND More Info:

    Lorraine Hennessy contested the 2014 local elections, polling over 400 votes, and narrowly missing out on the past seat. She’s a community activist and works in a shop. Lorraine is a lone parent with a teenage son. She is running with the Workers Party.

  • Derek Keating - FG More Info:

    Derek Keating (born 1955) was elected to the Dáil in 2011. He had unsuccessfully contested the 2007 general election in the constituency as an Independent. He served as an Independent Councillor on South Dublin County Council from 1999 until he joined Fine Gael in 2008. He has had a coloured political history, having also been a member of the Progressive Democrats and Fianna Fáil. 

  • Gino Kenny - AAA-PBP More Info:

    Gino Kenny has been a People Before Profit Alliance councillor on South Dublin County Council since 2009. He contested the 2011 general election, securing just under 6% of the first preference vote in the constituency. Originally from the Islandbridge flats in Dublin, he moved to the suburb of Neilstown in 1979. He originally got involved in politics with the Socialist Workers Party. As well as being a Councillor, he works part-time as a home care assistant. 

  • Haroon Khan - IND More Info:

    Haroon Khan is a doctor from Lucan who qualified in his native Pakistan in 1988.

  • Tom Kivlehan - GP More Info:

    Tom Kivlehan is from Cherrywood Dublin 18. He was a Councillor in Ballybrack from 2004-2009 but failed to be re-elected in either 2009 or 2014.

  • Clare Leonard - IND More Info:

    Clare Leonard is a Clondalkin businesswoman who is campaigning for A Peoples' Assembly for Democratic Reform.

  • Anne-Marie McNally - SD More Info:

    Anne-Marie McNally has worked with Kildare TD Catherine Murphy in the Dáil in the areas of strategy, research and communications. A former community journalist and community development worker, she has a degree in Accounting and Human Resources and a masters in Political Communication. She was announced as a candidate for the Social Democrats in the constituency. 

  • Eoin Ó Broin - SF More Info:

    Eoin O’Broin is a South Dublin County Councillor after being co-opted onto the local authority in 2013. He was elected onto Belfast City Council in 2001, but stepped down in 2004. He ran in the Dun Laoghaire constituency in 2007 and contested the 2011 general election in Dublin Mid West, but didn’t get a seat. He was also defeated in the Seanad election campaign in 2011. Educated in Blackrock College, he has a degree in cultural studies from the University of East London and an MA in Irish politics from Queens University Belfast.

  • Francis Timmons - IND More Info:

    Francis Timmons was elected to South Dublin County Council in 2014 as an Independent. He has a degree in Social Care and says he is passionate about social justice issues. He is a Peace Commissioner. 

  • Joanna Tuffy - LAB More Info:

    Joanna Tuffy was first elected as a TD in 2007, having failed to get elected in the 2002 general election. She served as a Senator between 2002 and 2007. While she opposed Labour’s coalition with Fine Gael after the 2011 general election, she observed the whip during the 31st Dáil. In 2013 when the Labour party adopted a position of abolition of the Seanad she disagreed with it. She chaired the Committee on Education and Social Protection in the 31st Dáil. 

Dublin Mid-West - First Preference Vote Share, General Election 2011