Sinn Féin announces spokesperson reshuffle for 32nd Dáil

Some new names are taking centre stage

Sinn Fein, spokespeople, reshuffle, portfolio, TDs, Mary Lou McDonald, Gerry Adams, Louise O’Reilly, Eoin O Broin

Gerry Adams (centre) announces changes for the 32nd Dáil | Image:

Sinn Féin is moving its spokespeople around for the new Dáil and Seanad.

Party president Gerry Adams said: “In keeping with the mandate we received in the general election, Sinn Féin is prioritising the areas of mental health, disability inclusion, public services and Irish unity”.

“We are very proud of the fact that our team is made up of more new TDs, an increased number of women in key portfolios, as well as an increased number of younger public representatives”.

“I am confident that the enhanced Sinn Féin team, in both the Dáil and Seanad, will play a productive and constructive role, and will bring the issues affecting citizens”, he added.

Among the high-profile appointments are the party’s deputy leader, Mary Lou McDonald, being appointed all-Ireland spokesperson on mental health and suicide prevention.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh becomes chief whip and defence spokesperson, Louise O’Reilly is spokesperson on health, Eoin Ó Broin is spokesperson on housing, and Peadar Tóibín is spokesperson on regional development.

Mr Ó Broin is also a member of the Oireachtas Committee on Housing and Homelessness.

Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin, previous spokesman on health, is now spokesperson on disability rights and older people.

And Jonathan O’Brien, previously spokesman on education, moves to justice and equality.

Newly-elected TD Kathleen Funchion has been given the portfolio of junior spokesperson on children and youth affairs (with special responsibility for childcare).


  • Gerry Adams - Party Leader, shadowing An Taoiseach
  • Mary Lou McDonald - Deputy Party Leader, shadowing An Tánaiste and all-Ireland Spokesperson on Mental Health & Suicide Prevention
  • Aengus Ó Snodaigh - Chief Whip and Spokesperson on Defence             
  • Pearse Doherty - Spokesperson on Finance
  • Louise O’Reilly - Spokesperson on Health
  • Carol Nolan - Spokesperson on Education & Skills
  • Eoin Ó Broin - Spokesperson on Housing, Planning & Local Government
  • David Cullinane - Spokesperson on Public Expenditure & Reform and all-Ireland Spokesperson on Workers’ Rights
  • Martin Kenny - Spokesperson on Agriculture, Food & the Marine
  • Peadar Tóibín - Spokesperson on Regional Development, Rural Affairs, Arts & the Gaeltacht
  • Jonathan O’Brien - Spokesperson on Justice & Equality and Drug & Alcohol Abuse
  • Donnchadh Ó Laoghaire - Spokesperson on Children & Youth Affairs
  • Seán Crowe - Spokesperson on Foreign Affairs & Trade, the EU and the Diaspora
  • John Brady - Spokesperson on Social Protection
  • Brian Stanley - Spokesperson on Communications, Climate Change & Natural Resources
  • Maurice Quinlivan -Spokesperson on Jobs, Enterprise & Innovation
  • Imelda Munster - Spokesperson on Transport, Tourism & Sport and Urban Renewal
  • Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin - Spokesperson on Disability Rights & Older People
  • Denise Mitchell - Deputy Whip and Junior Spokesperson on Social Protection
  • Dessie Ellis - Junior Spokesperson on Housing, Planning & Local Government
  • Kathleen Funchion - Junior Spokesperson on Children & Youth Affairs (with special responsibility for Childcare)
  • Martin Ferris - Junior Spokesperson on Agriculture, Food & the Marine (with special responsibility for Fisheries & the Marine)
  • Pat Buckley - Junior Spokesperson on Mental Health & Suicide Prevention


  • Rose Conway-Walsh - Seanad Group Leader and Rural Ireland
  • Paul Gavan - Seanad Whip and Workers’ Rights & Collective Bargaining
  • Pádraig Mac Lochlainn - Jobs & the Economy
  • Fintan Warfield - Youth, Arts & LGBT Rights
  • Máire Devine - Health & Wellbeing
  • Niall Ó Donnghaile - North/South Integration
  • Trevor Ó Clochartaigh - An Gaeilge and the Diaspora and Housing, Regional Development, Rural Affairs, Arts & the Gaeltacht