Yates' Prediction: Fianna Fáil will win a second seat in Wexford

Newstalk Breakfast looks at each election constituency, studying the candidates and predicting how they will perform

James Browne, Malcolm Byrne, Aoife Byrne, Ger Carthy, Michael D'Arcy, Julie Hogan, Brendan Howlin, Paul Kehoe, Leonard Kelly, David Lloyd, Emmet Moloney, Johnny Mythen, Deirdre Wadding, Mick Wallace, Ann Walsh, Fianna Fáil, Independent, Fine Gael, Labour, Social Democrats, Sinn Féin, Anti-Austerity Alliance People Before Profit, Green Party, #GE16, General Election, candidate, political party, February 26, 2016, Oireachtas, Leinster House, Taoiseach Enda Kenny, Tánaiste Joan Burton

Photo: Cllr. James Browne on Fiannafail.ie

Fianna Fáil will win a second seat in Wexford - according to Newstalk Breakfast presenter Ivan Yates.

Sitting TDs: Paul Kehoe (FG), Liam Twomey (FG), Brendan Howlin (LAB), John Browne (FF) and Mick Wallace (IND).

Two of the sittings TDs, Liam Twomey (FG) and John Browne (FF), have announced their retirements.

Former Minister Ivan Yates says Fine Gael will fail to hold onto the seat Twomey leave vacant.

The forecast comes as part of Newstalk's Breakfast presenter Ivan Yates' series of election predictions. In the weeks leading up to polling day, he is calling the outcome for each of the 40 constituencies.  

Wexford constituency

This is a five seat constituency, which was unchanged in a review of constituency boundaries.

Three of the sitting TDs - Paul Kehoe (FG), Brendan Howlin (LAB) and Mick Wallace (IND) - are seeking re-election. 

There are 15 candidates in Wexford.

Predicted outcome

Yates is calling the result as two for Fianna Fáil, one each for Labour and Fine Gael and one Independent. 

1. Mick Wallace (Ind)

2. Brendan Howlin (LAB)

3. Paul Kehoe (FG)

4. James Browne (FF)

5. Malcolm Byrne (FF)

The three sitting TDs seeking re-election will all retain their seats.

Independent Mick Wallace will defend his seat, but his vote will be well down as he is not viewed to be performing well on the ground.

Meanwhile, Labour's Brendan Howlin will be successful - largely because of Liam Twomey's (FG) decision to retire.

Fine Gael is assured of one seat, which will go to incumbent Paul Kehoe - Chief Whip for the government.

They will be joined by Cllr James Browne, who is the son of former TD John Browne from Enniscorthy. Browne Snr has retired.

The last seat will also go to Fianna Fáil, meaning Fine Gael will lose a seat because retiring Twomey will not be replaced. Fine Gael will feel that loss, as they are hoping for a second seat win.

You can listen to Ivan Yates' prediction on Newstalk.com's Wexford constituency page.