Yates' Prediction: Fine Gael and Sinn Féin to retain their seats in Sligo-Leitrim

Newstalk Breakfast looks at each election constituency, studying the candidates and predicting how they will perform

sligo, leitrim, sinn fein, constituency, breakfast, ivan, yates

John Perry. Image: RollingNews.ie

Fine Gael will retain their two seats in the Sligo-Leitrim constituency, according to Newstalk Breakfast presenter Ivan Yates.

Sitting TDs: Tony McLoughlin (FG), John Perry (FG), Michael Colreavy (SF)

There's an extra seat to play for in the newly expanded Sligo-Leitrim constituency this election, with Ivan suggesting that Fianna Fáil will benefit from the new boundaries.

Ivan is predicting that it will be the major parties who will occupy the four seats despite some popular independents, with Fine Gael and Sinn Féin retaining their seats.

It will likely be Fianna Fáil making the only gain here, with Marc MacSharry predicted to take a seat for the party.

Ivan says that despite a few difficulties over the last few years - including losing his ministry and a court dispute over the party's nominations - Fine Gael's John Perry is garnering a 'sympathy vote' that will see him re-elected.

The forecast comes as part of Newstalk Breakfast presenter Ivan Yates' series of election predictions. In the weeks leading up to polling day, he is calling the outcome for each of the 40 constituencies.


Sligo-Leitrim is a new four-seat constituency.

Two sitting TDs are seeking re-election, with Sinn Féin's Michael Colreavy retiring.

There are 17 candidates running in Sligo-Leitrim.

Ivan thinks "the Boundary Commission were an absolute disgrace in what they did with this constituency.

"They've made it now a new four-seat constituency, but sticking in four lumps of Donegal... they have nothing to do with Sligo-Leitrim. It really is very unfair," he added. 

He is predicting that "Tony McLoughlin, despite ill-health, is in Sligo and will get elected - and may even top the poll".

Predicted outcome 

Yates is calling the result as two seats for Fine Gael, one for Fianna Fáil, and one for Sinn Féin.

1. Tony McLoughlin (FG)

2. Marc MacSharry (FF)

3. Martin Kenny (SF)

4. John Perry (FG)

The Breakfast presenter is suggesting that there will be a lot of eliminations and plenty of candidates who will do very well in the constituency. However, when it comes down to it he is predicting that the final seat will go to Fine Gael's John Perry.

You can listen to Ivan Yates' prediction on Newstalk.com's Sligo-Leitrim constituency page.