Yates' Prediction: Catherine Murphy will top the poll in Kildare North

Newstalk Breakfast looks at each election constituency, studying the candidates and predicting how they will perform

Newstalk, Breakfast, General Election, #GE16, Michael Beirne, Réada Cronin, Bernard Durkan, Shane Fitzgerald, James Lawless, Anthony Lawlor, Ashling Merriman, Catherine Murphy, Maebh Ni Fhalluin, Frank O'Rourke, Emmett Stagg, Brendan Young, Independent, Sinn Féin, Fine Gael, Renua, Fianna Fáil, Anti-Austerity Alliance People Before Profit, Social Democrats, Green Party, Labour

Social Democrat leaders Catherine Murphy TD for Kildare North, Stephen Donnelly TD for Wicklow and Roisin Shortall TD for Dublin North West launch their election manifesto. Photo: /PHOTOCALL IRELAND

Leading Social Democrat Catherine Murphy will top the poll in Kildare North on Election Day - according to Newstalk Breakfast presenter Ivan Yates.

Sitting TDs: Bernard Durkan (FG), Anthony Lawlor (FG), Emmett Stagg (LAB) and Catherine Murphy (SD).

Deputy Murphy, who became known as a whistleblower this year for her highlighting of issues including the sale of Siteserv in the Dáil, will pick up votes all over the region not just in her own townland of Leixlip.

Her politics are left of centre, and Yates says the electorate will lean that way. 

The forecast came as part of Newstalk's Breakfast presenter Ivan Yates' series of election predictions. In the weeks leading up to polling day, he is calling the outcome for each of the 40 constituencies. 

Kildare North

There are four seats in this commuter belt constituency, which was largely unchanged by the boundary commission.

Mortgages, public transport and the local hospital service will be the issues on the doorsteps. 

There are 12 candidates running in the Kildare North constituency.

Predicted outcome

Yates is calling the result as one for the Social Democrats, one for Fine Gael, one for Fianna Fáil and one for Labour.

1. Catherine Murphy (SD)

2. Bernard Durkan (FG)

3. James Lawless (FF)

4. Emmett Stagg (LAB)

Catherine Murphy will enhance her position, taking even more votes than she did in 2011.

Veteran Fine Gael standard bearer Bernard Durkan from Maynooth will take the second seat. He has been in the Dáil since 1981 and will be successful again this year.

The results represent a gain for Fianna Fáil and a loss for Fine Gael.

The third seat will go to Fianna Fáil newcomer barrister James Lawless, who topped the poll in the 2014 local election but he got the highest vote of any candidate in the entire county of Kildare.

His win will spell disaster for Fine Gael's sitting TD Anthony Lawlor.

The fourth seat will go to Labour's Emmett Stagg, who has been a TD since 1987. Deputy Stagg is well-known and liked on the ground.

You can listen to Ivan Yates' prediction on Newstalk.com's Kildare North constituency page