The Presidents of Ireland

Talking History's Patrick Geoghegan joins George for a 9 week series chronicling the lives and careers of every Irish President

What do we really know about those who have served as the President of Ireland?

Patrick Geoghegan of Newstalk's Talking History is joining George for the next few weeks to help fill in some of those blanks.

Where better to start than at the beginning - the very first President of Ireland - Dr Douglas Hyde.


Up next, Patrick profiled Ireland's second President, Seán T. O'Kelly.


Next up was Ireland's third President, and most influential political figure, Eamon De Valera.


Erskine Childers was next in 1973, and was in office until his death in 1974.


Former Chief Justice of Ireland Cearbhall O'Dalaigh was Ireland's 5th President, serving from 1974 - 1976


Former Fianna Fáil TD for Clare Dr Patrick Hillery served as President from 1976 - 1990


Ireland's first female President was Mary Robinson.


No sooner had Ireland's first female President finished her time in office, than Ireland elected another, Ms Mary McAleese.


Finally, Patrick took a look at Ireland's current President, Michael D. Higgins