Who's who? Details of Leo Varadkar's Cabinet revealed

He has announced some high-profile moves

Who's who? Details of Leo Varadkar's Cabinet revealed

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar arrives at Aras An Uachtaran to receive his Seal of Office from President Michael D Higgins | Image: RollingNews.ie

The new Taoiseach Leo Varadkar has spent the evening mulling over who will go where in his Cabinet.

Mr Varadkar took office following a Dáil vote and ceremony with President Michael D Higgins earlier.

As the youngest ever Taosieach, as well as the first openly gay one, the world has been taking notice.

As for his Cabinet, Seamus Woulfe will become the new Attorney-General after Máire Whelan was appointed to the Court of Appeal.

Charlie Flanagan moves to Justice, and Simon Coveney goes to Foreign Affairs.

Mr Coveney will also have special responsibility for Brexit.

Paschal Donohoe will be the new Finance Minister - and will double as Public Expenditure Minister - while Regina Doherty will be Social Protection Minister.

Eoghan Murphy is to be appointed Housing Minister, while Denis Naughten retains his Communications ministry.

Frances Fitzgerald is keeping her role as Tánaiste - but will be moved to an Enterprise and Innovation portfolio.

Mary Mitchell O'Connor becomes a Minister of State with special responsibility for Higher Education.

The Agriculture portfolio stays with Michael Creed.

Michael Ring is given a new role as Minister for Community and Rural Affairs, which is being split off from the Department of Arts led by Heather Humphreys.

While Shane Ross, Katherine Zappone and Richard Bruton stay in the Departments of Transport, Children and Education respectively.

Joe McHugh becomes Government Chief Whip.

Announcing his appointments, Mr Varadkar told the Dáil his was a Government that was prepared for a new generation.

Source: Department of the Taoiseach