EY Entrepreneur of the Year's 24 Irish finalists have been revealed

The shortlisted firms span three categories...

EY Entrepreneur of the Year's 24 Irish finalists have been revealed

Ian Murphy, Director, Growth & Scaling Invest NI, Anne Heraty, CEO Cpl Resources and Chairperson of the EY Entrepreneur Of The YearTM judging panel, Sean Duffy, Programme Director Entrepreneur Of The YearTM programme, Julie Sinnamon, CEO Enterprise Ireland and Kevin McLoughlin, Partner Lead Entrepreneur Of The YearTM programme.

The 2016 EY Entrepreneur Of The Year finalists have been revealed, 24 companies are in the running for the awards' three categories.

2006 EY Entrepreneur of the Year Anne Heraty, and chief executive of Cpl Resources chaired the judging panel which narrowed the field. The programme is in its 19th year, it was founded to build a community to support ambitious entrepreneurs. It focuses on the theme of building a business legacy and includes bespoke executive education and mentoring initiatives.

The finalists have a combined workforce of almost 3,000 people and turnover of nearly €450m. The group will be given the opportunity to network with an experienced community of successful business peers.

These companies will also be invited to the EY CEO Retreat to Boston.

The EY Entrepreneur Of The YearTM 2016 finalists are:


Kitman Labs – Stephen Smith

Oneview Healthcare PLC – Mark McCloskey

Tiger Stores – Niall Stringer and Gillian Maxwell

NewsWhip – Paul Quigley and Andrew Mullaney

Freshly Chopped Limited – Brian Lee

Beats Medical – Ciara Clancy

Q1 Scientific – Louise Grubb

Plotbox – Leona and Sean McAllister


3fivetwo Group – Dr Suresh Tharma and Mr Ashok Songra

JMW Farms – Jim Wright

Leckey – James Leckey

M&M Contractors – Gareth Loye

Codd Mushrooms – Leslie Codd

Green Property – Stephen Vernon

TPI Group – Colin Culliton

Uform – Eamon Donnelly


Athlone Extrusions – James McGee

Kainos Group Plc – Brendan Mooney

MobileWebAdz – Kieran O’Keeffe

3D4Medical – John Moore

Abbey Machinery – Clodagh Cavanagh

Prepaid Financial Services and eCOMM Merchant Solutions – Noel Moran

The Healy Group – Maurice Healy

iCabbi – Gavan Walsh

Speaking at  the announcement, Kevin McLoughlin, Partner Lead of the EOY programme said: "This year’s shortlist is of a remarkable standard, and it is particularly encouraging to see an increase in the number of female finalists in the programme from last year.

"The finalists represent a fantastic mix of listed and private entrepreneur-led companies from a diverse range of sectors, including food, retail, technology, and manufacturing. There is also a particularly strong spread of finalists from the burgeoning life sciences and pharmaceutical sectors in Ireland."

The EOY judging panel will determine the winners based on a number of criteria, including - innovation; value creation; strategic direction; financial performance; national and global impact; and the entrepreneur’s contribution to society and industry.

Mr McLoughlin added, “We are looking forward to helping this year’s finalists put the necessary building blocks of funding, talent and innovation into place as they create their business legacy and we are proud to remain at the forefront of supporting and championing entrepreneurship in Ireland.

"We’d sincerely like to thank all of the phenomenal businesses that entered this year’s programme and applaud the tremendous contribution they make to Ireland’s economies – North and South."

The winners will be announced at the televised Awards Gala night in October 2016. The overall winner will go on to represent Ireland at World Entrepreneur Of The Year in Monaco in June 2017.