Snow-ice warning upgraded to status orange for several counties

A lower-level warning remains in place for other parts of the country



17:40 7 Dec 2017 Stephen McNeice 17:40 Thursday 7 December 2017

Met Éireann has upgraded a snow-ice warning for several counties across the country.

A general status yellow warning had been issued for the entire country yesterday.

However, that has now been upgraded to a higher status orange warning for Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, Longford, Leitrim, Mayo and Sligo.

Forecasters say snow showers in those areas will occur this evening, tonight and into Friday.

Accumulations above 4cm are expected, and up to 8cm on higher ground.

They are also warning of icy roads and footpaths.

A status yellow warning, meanwhile, remains in place for Munster, Dublin, Carlow, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Louth, Wexford, Wicklow, Offaly, Westmeath, Meath and Roscommon.

Accumulations of up to 3cm are expected in those areas.

Both warnings are valid from this afternoon until 6pm tomorrow.

The Road Safety Authority has issued advice for road users, with motorists & cyclists being urged to watch out for black ice on the roads.

1 Related Article

Met √Čireann issues snow-ice warning for country

Scattered snow showers are expected from late Thursday and into Friday