Eight uncapped players in Ireland squad for USA and Japan tour

Joe Schmidt has named 31 players for the three test-tour

Eight uncapped players in Ireland squad for USA and Japan tour

Jacob Stcokdale and James Ryan are among the uncapped players. Mandatory Credit ©INPHO

Joe Schmidt has named 31 players in his Ireland squad for the three Test summer tour of the USA and Japan in June.

The squad contains eight uncapped players, with all four provinces represented – John Cooney, Dave Heffernan, Rory O'Loughlin, Andrew Porter, James Ryan, Rory Scannell, Jacob Stockdale and Kieran Treadwell.

"With eleven players due to tour with the British and Irish Lions, plus a number of injuries to experienced internationals, the summer tour squad includes plenty of youth", Schmidt revealed.

"There is a real freshness to the group, including the coaching staff, so we're looking forward to what will be a very challenging summer tour."

"We have retained a sprinkling of experienced players", Schmidt continued. "Some of whom may yet be called up to the Lions, but the focus is really on challenging the younger players to cope with the heat and foreign conditions as well as the speed and physicality of test rugby."

One further player player will be added to the squad following the weekend's provincial fixtures.

Racing 92's Ronan O'Gara, Leinster's Girvan Dempsey and Munster's Felix Jones will all join the coaching staff during the tour, working with the side for a week each. 

Ireland's first game of the Summer Tour takes place against USA in New Jersey on Saturday, 10th June.

The squad then flies to Japan for two Tests against the 2019 Rugby World Cup hosts who have been drawn in Pool A alongside Ireland at the World Cup. The first Test takes place in Shizuoka on 17th June with the final Test of the tour in Tokyo on 24th June.