Peter O'Mahony addresses Wayne Barnes call on Ireland maul

Ireland back row touched on the penalty given to Wales for what was deemed to be obstruction by Henshaw

Ireland, Wales, Peter O'Mahony, Six Nations, rugby

Ireland’s Peter O’Mahony and Niall Scannell dejected after the game ©INPHO/James Crombie

Peter O'Mahony feels Ireland were potentially unlucky not to get a penalty try during the defeat to Wales in Friday's Six Nations clash.

The Ireland back row replaced Munster team-mate CJ Stander in the second half of the 22-9 result in Cardiff.

The Irish side did come close to a try in that second period via a driving maul but referee Wayne Barnes awarded a penalty to Wales instead for obstruction, penalising Robbie Henshaw who had joined the maul.

Speaking to Newstalk's Dave McIntyre, O'Mahony was unsure about that decision, although he respects Barnes' call.

"I guessed it was a penalty try in our direction," he said.

"Look, I haven't seen it but Wayne is obviously one of the best referees in the world so you'll have to go with his judgement." 

O'Mahony continued: "It's tough to referee unless it's blatant. As I said, I didn't see it. At times, it's refereed, at times it's not. But if [Robbie] created a bit of a difference and Wayne saw that there was a bit of an obstruction there than that's the call." 

The Munster flanker also felt Ireland can take positives from aspects of the performance, even if taking chances proved to be troublesome.

"Very frustrating. Look, I think we created a lot of opportunities, I think we got some field position and we put a lot of pressure on them. I think at the end of the day we didn't capitalise on the opportunities that we made for ourselves and the small margins probably let ourselves down by not finishing them off," he said.

"So a lot of positives to be taken but against a team like the Welsh lads' calibre, you're going to struggle if you're not going to capitalise pressuring points."