Waterford FC sign 8 players ahead of new season

The First Division side are undergoing somewhat of a revamp since being bought by investor Lee Power

Patrick McClean

Image: ©INPHO/Donall Farmer 

Waterford FC have continued their recruitment ahead of the new season with the announcement of eight new players over the past two days. 

The First Division side have invested heavily in their first team sincebeing bought by investor Lee Power late last year.

Matthew Connor, Gary Delaney, Anthony McAlavey and James McClean's brother, Patrick, were all brought announced on Tuesday by the club.

On Wednesday afternoon, Shane O'Connor, Robin Dempsey, Dean Walsh and Owen Wall were all added to that quartet.

The investment comes after the appointments of Alan Reynolds as manager and former Shelbourne, Bohemians and Shamrock Rovers manager Pat Fenlon as director of football.

The club are targeting automatic promotion this year, which has been restricted to one club as the League of Ireland undergoes divisional restructure. From 2018, both the Premier Division and the First Division will both only feature ten teams.

McClean, 20, moves from Derry City after making 13 appearances for the Premier Division side last season.

Gary Delaney, who won the First Division with Wexford Youths in 2015, also joins, along with former Cork City goalkeeper Matthew Connor. 

The 19-year-old has been capped by the Republic of Ireland at Under-17 and Under-18 level.

Former Aston Villa man Robin Dempsey was announced today alongside Owen Wall and Shane O'Connor to come back to the club.