15 Tipperary players nominated for a GAA/GPA Hurling All-Star

The All-Ireland winners make up a third of the nominees

15 Tipperary players nominated for a GAA/GPA Hurling All-Star

Padraic Maher and Seamus Callanan are two on the Player of the Year nominees. Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

Eight counties are represented in the GAA/GPA Hurling All-Stars nominations, but All-Ireland winners Tipperary dominate the shortlist with 15 nominees.

The All-Ireland champions have six defenders and six forwards in the nominees and are joined by the midfield duo of Michael Breen and Brendan Maher. Goalkeeper Darren Gleeson also makes the shortlist.

Tipperary duo Pádraic Maher and Séamus Callanan are three of the nominees for the Player of the Year. They are joined by Waterford's Austin Gleeson.

Gleeson is also nominated for the Young Player of the Year. His teammate Shane Bennett, and Tipperary's Ronan Maher complete the nominees.

Despite losing to Kilkenny in the All-Ireland semi-final, Waterford have nine nominees, compared to Kilkenny's eight. Galway have six players nominated, with Clare (3), Wexford (2), Limerick (1) and Cork (1) completing the list.

The winners will be announced, along with the winners of the Football team on November 4th. 

The 2016 GAA/GPA Opel Hurling All-Star Nominees

Goalkeepers: Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny), Darren Gleeson (Tipperary), Colm Callanan (Galway).

Defenders: Cathal Barrett (Tipperary), James Barry (Tipperary), Daithí Burke (Galway), Tadhg de Búrca (Waterford), Shane Fives (Waterford), Pádraic Maher (Tipperary), Ronan Maher (Tipperary), Paul Murphy (Kilkenny), Pádraig Walsh (Kilkenny), Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny), Michael Cahill (Tipperary), Séamus Kennedy (Tipperary), Diarmuid Byrnes (Limerick), Noel Connors (Waterford), Philip Mahony (Waterford), Cian Dillon (Clare), Pádraig Mannion (Galway), Matthew O’Hanlon (Wexford).

Midfielders: Jamie Barron (Waterford), David Burke (Galway), Michael Breen (Tipperary), Conor Fogarty (Kilkenny), Brendan Maher (Tipperary), Kevin Moran (Waterford).

Forwards: Séamus Callanan (Tipperary), Austin Gleeson (Waterford), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny), Patrick Maher (Tipperary), Pauric Mahony (Waterford), John McGrath (Tipperary), Noel McGrath (Tipperary), John O’Dwyer (Tipperary), Walter Walsh (Kilkenny), Conor Cooney (Galway), Tony Kelly (Clare), Dan McCormack (Tipperary), Joe Canning (Galway), TJ Reid (Kilkenny), Michael Walsh (Waterford), Lee Chin (Wexford), Colm Galvin (Clare), Alan Cadogan (Cork).