Off The Ball reveal the defensive members of the Bord Gais Energy under-21 team of the year

Joe Canning, Ger Cunningham and Ken McGrath pick their choices

Austin Gleeson, Waterford,

Austin Gleeson of Waterford ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan

It's that time of year again.

After an exciting 2016 Bord Gais Energy All-Ireland under-21 hurling championship which saw Waterford defeat Galway, it's time to recognise the star performers.

Tonight on Off The Ball, the defensive stars of the tournament were recognised as Galway star Joe Canning, Dublin manager Ger Cunningham and ex-Waterford centre-back Ken McGrath picked the Bord Gais Energy under-21 hurling team of the year.


Jordan Henley (Waterford)

Full-back line

Eoghan O’Donnell (Dublin)

Conor Gleeson (Waterford)

Darragh Lyons (Waterford)

Half-back line

Austin Gleeson (Waterford)

Michael Harney (Waterford)

Shane Barrett (Dublin)

The midfield, half-forward and full-forward line players will be revealed on Off The Ball and on October 5th.