Marcus Rashford nominated for Golden Boy award

Manchester City's Kelechi Iheanacho and Genk's Leon Bailey are both in the running for the award

Marcus Rashford

Image: Dave Howarth / EMPICS Sport

Manchester United striker Marcus Rashford has been nominated for the 2016 Golden Boy award, which recognises young players in Europe for their during their efforts over the year.

The awarded is voted for by journalists to win the awards and players must be under the age of 21 and play in a European nation’s top tier.

18-year-old Rashford gets the nomination after breaking into the first team in February of this year and scoring on his senior debut against Danish side FC Midtjylland in February.

Among those also nominated are Tottenham's Dele Alli, who became a key member in his sides push for the Premier League title last season, Manchester City's Kelechi Iheanacho and Genk's Leon Bailey who featured against Cork City in the Europa League qualifying stages earlier this year.

Previous winners of the accolade are now widely known players such as Anthony Martial (2015), Raheem Sterling (2014) and Paul Pogba (2013).

Manchester United captain Wayne Rooney won it in 2004, whilst Lionel Messi and Sergio Aguero scooped the award as well. 

Full List of Golden Boy Nominees

Dele Alli (Tottenham), Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), Leon Bailey (Racing Genk), Riechedly Bazoer (Ajax), Gabriel Boschilia (Monaco), Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Andreas Christensen (Borussia Monchengladbach, on loan from Chelsea), Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich, on loan from Juventus), Ante Coric (Dinamo Zagreb), Amadou Diawara (Napoli), Mahmoud Dahoud (Gladbach), Danilo (Benfica), Moussa Dembele (Celtic), Ousmane Dembele (Borussia Dortmund) Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan), Breel Ambolo (Schalke), Carlos Fernandez (Sevilla), Gabigol (Inter), Aleksandr Golovin (CSKA Moscow), Demarai Gray (Leicester City), Marko Gruijic (Liverpool), Goncalo Guedes (Benfica), Alen Halilovic (Hamburg), Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal), Viktor Kovalenko (Shakhtar Donetsk), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea), Lucas Hernandez (Atletico Madrid), Emanuel Mammana (Lyon), Nathan (Vitesse, on loan from Chelsea), Ruen Neves (Porto), Jules Ntcham (Genoa), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Renato Sanches (Bayern Munich), Jairo Riedewald (Ajax), Antonio Sarabria (Real Betis), Leroy Sane (Manchester City), Jonathan Tah (Leverkusen), Youri Tielemans (Anderlecht), Almamy Toure (Monaco).