Leitrim revive spirit of 1994 as John O'Mahony and Seamus Quinn join management team

They won the Connacht championship 22 years ago

John O'Mahony

John O'Mahony©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan

Leitrim's 1994 Connacht Championship-winning manager John O'Mahony will be part of the county's next management team.

Along with Seamus Quinn, who won an All-Star that year, Michael Moyles and Benny Guckian will also form part of the management team.

According to Shannonside, O'Mahony will be involved in an advisory capacity.

The county board ratified the appointments tonight as Leitrim looked to fill a vacancy following the decision of Shane Ward to step down

O'Mahony famously led Leitrim to provincial glory for only the second time in the county's history in 1994 - a full 67 years on from the only previous Connacht title.

In 2014, he spoke to Newstalk about that experience on the 20th anniversary along with then-captain Declan Darcy.