Dustin Johnson won the tournament by three strokes
Dustin Johnson's win at the US Open will go down as one of the best mental performances at a major in recent memory.
On the 12th tee of his final round, Johnson was told he may have been given a one-shot penalty at the end of his round for an alleged infringement on the fifth green. For the rest of the tournament, Johnson and his nearest rivals (including Shane Lowry) all played on without knowing what their exact position was.
Johnson called a rules offical on the fifth, after notifying him his ball moved backwards as he prepared to take a putt. Playing partner Lee Westwood backed Johnson up immediately and stated that the ball moved without any influence from the American.
Despite both players leaving the fifth green, assuming the incident was over, USGA officials returned to Johnson after he parred the 11th.
After leaving the course on -5 with a remarkable birdie on 18, Johnson was eventually penalised a shot for what happened on the fifth. His four-shot victory turned into a three-shot one.
Players took to Twitter to speak about the incident and the treatment of Johnson. They were all in unison about the unfair pressure put on the 31-year-old.
This is ridiculous... No penalty whatsoever for DJ. Let the guy play without this crap in his head. Amateur hour from @USGA— Rory McIlroy (@McIlroyRory) June 19, 2016
This isn't right for anyone on that golf course. If it was me I wouldn't hit another shot until this farce was rectified.— Rory McIlroy (@McIlroyRory) June 19, 2016
Lemme get this straight.. DJ doesn't address it. It's ruled that he didn't cause it to move. Now you tell him he may have? Now? This a joke?— Jordan Spieth (@JordanSpieth) June 19, 2016
DJ took the high road to take that penalty. This ordeal cannot be overlooked because of a multiple shot victory— Jordan Spieth (@JordanSpieth) June 20, 2016
No way DJ gets a penalty. Use some common sense @usga The greens are running 14 and are sloppier than Mount Everest— Luke Donald (@LukeDonald) June 19, 2016
This is so simple, yet the @usga is making it so convoluted. Only way ball can move backwards is if DJ grounded his putter. He didn't— Luke Donald (@LukeDonald) June 19, 2016
Some great golf by @DJohnsonPGA all week, strong way to finish overcoming that rules farce. Happy Father's Day to DJ and all of you.— Tiger Woods (@TigerWoods) June 20, 2016