WATCH: Eurovision announces biggest change to voting since 1975

It will see separate points awarded by professional juries and viewers

Eurovision, voting, changes, Ireland, jury, viewers, phone in vote, douze points, Stockholm, Nicky Byrne

Image: EBU

The voting in the Eurovision Song Contest is set to be radically transformed this year.

In previous years, the results of the professional juries and viewers have been presented as a combined result - each accounting for 50% of the final score.

But from this year, the professional juries and televoters will each award a separate set of points - from 1 to 8, 10 and 12.

This now means the top 10 countries in both the jury and televote will receive points, adding a new level to the show.

How does it work?

After viewers have cast their votes by phone, text or through the official app, each national spokesperson from the 43 countries will be called in to present the points of their jury.

Then after that presentation, the televoting points from will be combined - providing one score for each song.

These televoting results will then be announced by the host, starting with the country receiving the fewest points from the public.

"This new way of presenting the votes is a big step forward, both to make a better television show as well as a more exciting competition," said the EBU's Jon Ola Sand, executive supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest.

"The new voting format guarantees that the song which is most popular among the public will receive twelve points regardless of how the juries voted".

"It is fitting that this change to the contest's iconic scoring sequence will be debuted in Stockholm, where the famous douze points system was introduced in 1975", he added.

The grand final of this year's contest takes place in Stockholm on Saturday May 14th.

But Ireland will still have to qualify in the second semi-final, with Nicky Byrne's 'Sunlight'.