Major update changes how Snapchat will handle your photos
It's famous for how it deletes your photos after 24 hours, but now Snapchat wants you to keep them around for a bit longer.
That's why it has introduced Memories, where you can save and share your favourite Snapchat photos forever.
Much like adding a snap to your Story, you just hit a little button down the bottom of the screen when you take the snap and it'll save it in a photo roll within the app. Swipe up from the camera and you'll access all the photos and stories you've saved, along with your phone's actual camera roll.
The snaps saved in Memories will be fully editable and shareable, just like when you take a new snap. You've been able to send saved photos over Snapchat before, but it would only send over the chat feature of the app.
Now you can add older snaps to your Story, where they'll be highlighted with a white border around it.
You can also hide snaps from your Memories with a My Eyes Only feature that locks away snaps you don't want everyone seeing behind a PIN code.
Being able to send older snaps whenever you like is a complete reversal on how people use and view Snapchat. It's all been an "in the moment" sharing platform, letting you look at and share what's happening right now or in the past 24 hours via a Story.
By moving to more long term capturing of photos and videos, Snapchat could be moving into a more social space.
In a blog post, Snapchat said "It’s fun to celebrate an anniversary or birthday by finding a few old Snaps and stringing them together into a new Story", indicating that it sees its future as preserving and sharing memories, rather than just letting them live for 24 hours.