Several ex-ministers seeking place in Seanad

Elections in the upper house will take place in April

Several ex-ministers seeking place in Seanad

The Seanad chamber | Photocall file photo

A number of government ministers who lost their seats last weekend are planning to run for Seanad Éireann in next month's elections.

The Sunday Times reports Ged Nash, Aodhan O'Riordain and Paudie Coffey are seeking nominations from the Labour Party and Fine Gael.

It also says former Fine Gael TDs Jerry Buttimer, Kieran O'Donnell, Ray Butler, Aine Collins and Labour's Joanna Tuffy and Michael McNamara are planning to contest the elections.

Nominations for the university panel closed on Thursday, while all other nominations will close on March 21st.

New contestants for the university panel include former independent TD Aevril Power for Trinity College and former Progressive Democrat leader Michael McDowell for NUI. 

The first ballots will be issue on April 11th and the final poll will close on April 26th.




Live from @ElectionNT