GE16: Counting continues in Longford-Westmeath to fill final two Dáil seats

In Dublin South Central, Bríd Smith of PBP/AAA was elected this afternoon

Longford-Westmeath, Dublin Bay North, Dublin South Central, Newstalk, GE16, General Election, constituencies, constituency, count, Day 4

Brid Smith of People Before Profit who has won a seat in Dublin South Central, with Richard Boyd Barrett. Image:

There are just two seats left to be filled in the 32nd Dáil, with only one constituency left to be decided.

Longford-Westmeath is the only constituency left to finish counting.

Fine Gael's legal advisor says the party will take legal action if they feel their candidate in the constituency - James Bannon - has been wronged.

Outgoing Deputy Bannon requested a full recount last night - after he was apparently told that the distribution of Kevin 'Boxer' Moran's surplus has resulted in him being two votes behind outgoing Labour TD Willie Penrose.

The recount is continuing tonight.

Solicitor Kevin O'Higgins, speaking to Shannonside FM, says Fine Gael will look at all options:

If Labour secure the seat, they will have party speaking rights in the new Dáil.

Speaking to Shannonside FM at the Kenagh Count Centre, James Bannon criticised what he called "faceless politics" and the social media culture:

In Dublin South Central, Bríd Smith of People Before Profit / Anti Austerity Alliance was elected this afternoon.

It followed a delay over disputed votes, where it was between Bríd Smith and Fianna Fáil's Catherine Ardagh for the fourth seat.

The result means the AAA/PBP has six members in the next Dáil - the same number of seats currently held by Labour.

Deputy Smith says Labour has deserved the collapse in its vote:

The current breakdown of seats sees Fine Gael on 49, Fianna Fáil on 44, and Sinn Féin on 23.

The Social Democrats have three, the Greens two, and the Independent Alliance will have six deputies. 17 Independent TDs have also been elected.

You can see a full list of TDs here.

Meanwhile, the final seats in Dublin Bay North went to Sinn Féin's Denise Mitchell, and Independents Tommy Broughan and Finian McGrath.

Labour junior minister Aodhán Ó Ríordáin has lost his Dáil seat in the constituency.

Cabinet meeting

Separately, the outgoing Cabinet has met this afternoon - including three ministers who lost their seats.

Fine Gael deputy leader James Reilly, former Communications Minister Alex White and former Super Junior Minister Ged Nash are no longer TDs.

The Taoiseach Enda Kenny says Fine Gael wants to engage "fully and inclusively" with other parties to try and form a government.

The statement seems to open the door to the possibility of a coalition with parties including Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin.

Yesterday, the Fianna Fail leader Micheal Martin called for talks on Dáil reform to happen before the parties try and form a government.

However, former Labour party minister Pat Rabitte believes Fianna Fáil will soon feel under pressure to join a coalition with Fine Gael:

Under the Constitution, the outgoing Taoiseach and ministers remain in their roles until a new Taoiseach is elected and a government formed.

Independent TD Mick Wallace told Newstalk Breakfast he believes the two biggest parties in the State will enter into the so-called "grand coalition" to form the next government.

Live from @ElectionNT