The winner takes it all... Here are the big winners and losers so far

There are quite a number of high profile TDs who will lose their seats today

The exit polls indicated this morning that it would be a good day for Fianna Fáil but a bad day for the coalition parties with Labour down to below 8% in the opinion polls and Fine Gael in or around 25%.

With that, there were a number of surprises all over the country.

Alan Shatter has lost his Dáil seat in one of the big surprises of this election.

Minister for Children James Reilly has also lost his seat.

Alex White was the first major name to lose his seat, when the Communications Minister was eliminated from the race in Dublin Rathdown after the fourth count.

Meanwhile, Labour's Joe Costello was eliminated in Dublin Central after count seven, while the party's Minister of State Ann Phelan has been eliminated in Carlow-Kilkenny.

One win for Labour - their first on Saturday, coming shortly before 10pm - was the re-election of Joan Burton in Dublin West.

Alan Kelly has also been re-elected, taking one of the final two seats in Tipperary.

In Dublin Rathdown, the final two seats, the first having been won by Shane Ross, went to Fine Gael's Josepha Madigan and Green Party deputy leader Catherine Martin.

Martin's election will see the Greens back in the Dáil after losing all their seats in 2011. There was further good news for the party on Sunday with the election of Eamon Ryan in Dublin Bay South.

Renua leader Lucinda Creighton was eliminated from the race in the same constituency as Mr Ryan on the fifth count.

Social Democrats co-leader Roisín Shortall won convincingly in Dublin North West, becoming the first woman elected to the next Dáil and also the first member of her party ever elected as a Social Democrat.

Her party's co-leaders - Stephen Donnelly and Catherine Murphy - are also returning to the Dáil, topping the polls in their respective Wicklow and Kildare North.

Elsewhere, Micheál Martin and Michael McGrath were big winners in Cork South Central, both on the first count.

Fianna Fáil have taken a seat in Dublin - further signs of a significant comeback for the party - who prior to this had no sitting TDs in the capital.

Following the 2011 election, only one Fianna Fáil TD was elected in Dublin. After Brian Lenihan passed away, the party was left without representation in the capital.

However the party's Senator Darragh O'Brien changed all that when he took a seat on the first count in Dublin Fingal. 

Taoiseach Enda Kenny will be returning to the 32nd Dáil - he was elected after the first count in Mayo.

The Health Minister and Fine Gael TD Leo Varadkar has been re-elected in Dublin West on the second count. It's the same constituency where Labour Leader Joan Burton is battling to keep her seat

Agriculture Minister Simon Coveney is also returning to the Dáil.

Sinn Féin’s Mary Lou McDonald was elected in the Dublin Central constituency, after the sixth count.

The party’s deputy leader has topped the poll, and two seats are yet to be filled. She says the coalition’s performance today is a strong warning:

Live from @ElectionNT