More than 65 TDs now elected to the Dáil

The coalition parties have lost a lot of support over the course of the campaign

At the end of the first day of counting more than 65 of the 32nd Dáil seat have now been filled - and Fine Gael and Labour have been hammered by the electorate.

Fine Gael have 20, Labour leader Joan Burton is the only TD for the party so far, Fianna Fáil have 22, Sinn Féin seven, the Social Democrats have three, the Greens have one and there's three for People Before Profit / Anti Austerity Alliance.

There are four for the Independent Alliance and six other unaligned independents.

But the election has already seen the departure of big names, including Minister Ann Phelan and Alex White from the Labour party, and Alan Shatter from Fine Gael.

The Renua Ireland leader Lucinda Creighton has certainly failed to hold her Dublin Bay South seat.

The Taoiseach Enda Kenny's admitted the coalition has failed to be re-elected.

Dublin Rathdown has booted out former Minister Alan Shatter and Communications Minister Alex White.

The Fine Gael deputy leader James Reilly is in trouble in Dublin Fingal, either John Deasy or Junior Minister Paudie Coffey will lose in Waterford, and after a high profile court battle with Fine Gael, John Perry is gone in Sligo Leitrim.

The Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin was the first party leader to be elected, alongside his finance spokesman Michael McGrath in Cork South Central.

Among those making up the numbers are former party TDs who had been spending time in the Senate - Darragh O'Brien and Thomas Byrne will return to the Dáil.

New faces for the party include Anne Rabbitte in Galway East, Shane Cassels in Meath West and Mary Butler in Waterford.

Among the Fine Gael TDs elected are Ministers Leo Varadkar, Simon Harris, Michael Noonan and Frances Fitzgerald.

Sinn Féin's total include Deputy Leader Mary Lou McDonald and Gerry Adams.

All three leaders of the Social Democrats - Stephen Donnelly, Catherine Murphy and Roisín Shortall - have been elected.

Shane Ross in Dublin Rathdown and Seán Canney in Galway East have been elected for the Independent alliance, while Independent Denis Naughton has been returned to the Dáíl, as has Michael Lowry in Tipperary.

Finally, the Greens have a new TD - the deputy leader Catherine Martin has been elected in Dublin Rathdown.

Live from @ElectionNT