Constituency Profile: Wexford

Quick facts:

  • 5-seater 
  • 5 sitting TDs: Paul Kehoe (FG), Liam Twomey (FG), Brendan Howlin (LAB), John Browne (FF), Mick Wallace (IND)
  • Ministerial representation: Brendan Howlin, Labour; Minister of State Paul Kehoe, Fine Gael
  • Population: 145,320
  • 2011 poll topper: Mick Wallace, Independent
  • Most likely to lose: Brendan Howlin, Labour Party (but he won’t)
  • One to watch: Michael D'Arcy, Fine Gael

The local election results would suggest that Labour cannot keep the seat that the party has won in every election since the foundation of the State, except for the two 1982 elections. However Brendan Howlin has a large personal vote that transcends the party’s fortunes.

Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael will each win one seat, and the probability is that Mick Wallace will retain his seat.

Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael and Sinn Féin will fight it out for the final seat, but the decision of Liam Twomey to leave politics hinders Fine Gael's chances. Sinn Féin got a Councillor elected in each of the four local election areas in 2014 - including two in Wexford Town - which will give them the advantage.

Possible result:

  • 1 FG (-1)
  • 1 FF
  • 1 LAB
  • 1 SF (+1)
  • 1 IND

Ivan's take: Yates is calling the result as two for Fianna Fáil, one each for Labour and Fine Gael and one Independent. 

  • James Browne - FF More Info:

    James Browne is one of two Fianna Fáil candidates in Wexford, alongside Cllr Malcolm Byrne. Cllr Browne topped the poll in Enniscorthy in 2014, with 14.78% of the first preference votes.

  • Aoife Byrne - FF More Info:

    Byrne is the daughter of former FF Minister Hugh Byrne. She has never run for election before.

  • Malcolm Byrne - FF More Info:

    Fianna Fáil's Wexford candidate Malcolm Byrne was elected as Chairman of Wexford County Council following the 2014 local elections.

  • Ger Carthy - IND More Info:

    Carthy is the current Mayor of Wexford and topped the poll in 2014.

  • Michael D'Arcy - FG More Info:

    Michael D’Arcy was a TD for Wexford from 2007 to 2011, and a Senator since 2011. Michael lost his seat to party colleague Paul Kehoe in 2011 by 636 votes. He is the son of Michael D’Arcy, who served as a TD for Wexford.

  • John Dwyer - IND More Info:

    John Dwyer is running as an Independent.

  • Caroline Foxe - IND More Info:

    Caroline Foxe is an Independent candidate for Wexford. Caroline has worked as a postmistress in Foulksmills for the past seven years, and in An Post for over fourteen years. 

  • Julie Hogan - FG More Info:

    Hogan is a professional woman who lives and works in Wexford town.

  • Brendan Howlin - LAB More Info:

    Brendan Howlin was first elected to the Dáil in 1987. He was Minister for Health in Albert Reynolds' cabinet and Minister for the Environment in John Bruton’s cabinet. He has run for Labour party leader twice. However he was beaten by Ruairi Quinn in 1997 and by Pat Rabitte in 2002. He’s the outgoing Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform. 

  • Paul Kehoe - FG More Info:

    Paul Kehoe was elected to the Dail in 2002. He has been Fine Gael chief whip since October 2004 and Government Whip since 2011. He is also a Minister of State at the Departments of the Taoiseach & Defence since 2011. 

  • Leonard Kelly - SD More Info:

    The Social Democrats candidate for Wexford, Leonard Kelly is co-founder and chair of mental health awareness and fundraising group Friends of It’s Good to Talk.

  • David Lloyd - IND More Info:

    David Lloyd is an electrician from Wexford town. He is running for Direct Democracy Ireland.

  • Emmet Moloney - IND More Info:

    Emmet Moloney is contesting the election as an Independent. He has pledged to ensure "Wexford is my main base", and says he will offer approachability and accessibility if elected.

  • Johnny Mythen - SF More Info:

    Johnny Mythen is a Sinn Féin councillor for Wexford since 2009. Johnny spent 35 years working for the ESB. He was a trade union rep and held a position on the national union negotiators' team. 

  • Deirdre Wadding - AAA-PBP More Info:

    Deirdre Wadding has been a County Councillor in Wexford since 2014. She has been actively campaigning against water charges and austerity and in January 2015 removed and returned her water to Irish Water

  • Mick Wallace - IND More Info:

    Mick Wallace was elected to the Dáil in 2011. In the last general election he topped the poll, receiving 13,329 first-preference votes and was elected on the first count. Prior to entering politics he worked as a developer, and since being elected has been extremely critical of how the government handled the banking crisis. He was named as defaulting on VAT payments and is paying a portion of the debt back from his salary.

  • Ann Walsh - GP More Info:

    Walsh is a Gorey based psychologist.

Wexford - First Preference Vote Share, General Election 2011