Constituency Profile: Meath West

Quick facts:

  • 3-seater
  • 3 sitting TDs: Damien English (FG), Ray Butler (FG), Peadar Toibin (SF)
  • Ministerial representation: Minister of State Damien English, Fine Gael
  • Population: 85,550
  • 2011 poll topper: Damien English, Fine Gael
  • Most likely loser: Ray Butler, Fine Gael
  • One to watch: Ray Butler, Fine Gael

As of now this is going to be a pretty straightforward result. Damien English (Fine Gael) and Peadar Tóibín (Sinn Féin) will keep their seats, while Ray Butler will lose the second Fine Gael seat to Shane Cassells of Fianna Fáil.

It is possible that an Independent will appear to upset this scenario, but that is unlikely.

Possible result:

  • 1 FG (-1)
  • 1 FF (+1)
  • 1 SF

Ivan's take: Yates is calling the result as one seat apiece for Fine Gael, Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin.

  • Ray Butler - FG More Info:

    Ray Butler was elected to the Dáil in 2011. He received 13.1% of first preference votes in the 2011 general election. He has a background in business, and before being elected as a T.D., he was self-employed for over twenty years.

  • Shane Cassells - FF More Info:

    Shane Cassells has been a councillor for Navan since 2004. He is vice-chairman of Meath County Council and is a qualified journalist, holding a BA in Journalism and Media Communications. He unsuccessfully contested the 2011 general elections, receiving 8.7% of first preference votes. 

  • Damien English - FG More Info:

    Damien English has been a TD for Meath West since 2002. He has also served as Minister of State for Skills, Research and Innovation since July 2014. In the 2011 general elections he topped the poll, receiving 23.1% of first preference votes. Prior to being elected to the Dáil Damien was a councillor for Meath.

  • Trevor Golden - IND More Info:

    Golden is a Councillor from the Trim LEA where he got the second seat in 2014 with 1,052 first preference votes.

  • Alan Lawes - IND More Info:

    Lawes is from Navan and contested the 2014 local elections for People Before Proft Alliance but has since switched to Direct Democracy Ireland / National Citizens Movement.

  • John Malone - IND More Info:

    John Malone is from Oldcastle and is the leader of the Christian and Jobs Action Party.

  • Tracy McElhinney - LAB More Info:

    Tracey McElhinney was first elected to Meath County Council in 2009. She sought re-election to the council in the 2014 local elections but was unsuccessful, receiving 4.3% of first preference votes. After being made redundant in 2006, Tracy set up the employment lobby group Next Era Calling with former employees and some community members; she is the current Chairperson of this organization.

  • Seamus McMenamin - GP More Info:

    Seamus McMenamin is the Green Party candidate for Meath West. He became a registered doctor in 2005 and since then has worked in the Meath area as a general practitioner. 

  • Peadar Tóibí­n - SF More Info:

    Peadar Tóibín has been a TD for Meath West since 2011. He stood unsuccessfully in the 2004 local elections, but was subsequently elected in 2009. In 2013 he was suspended from the Sinn Féin parliamentary party for six months when he defied the party whip by voting against the Protection of Life During Pregnancy Bill.

Meath West - First Preference Vote Share, General Election 2011