Constituency Profile: Limerick County

Quick facts:

  • New 3-seater
  • 3 sitting TDs: Dan Neville (FG), Patrick O'Donovan (FG), Niall Collins (FF)
  • Ministerial representation: None
  • Population: 83,834
  • 2011 poll topper: Niall Collins, Fianna Fáil
  • One to watch: James Heffernan, Social Democrats

Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil have definitely one seat apiece. Indeed, apart from 1987 - when the Progressive Democrats took Fine Gael’s seat - no other party has ever won a seat here.

Unless Fianna Fáil add another candidate alongside Niall Collins, he will be fighting a lone battle effectively conceding a second seat to Fine Gael, which says how far Fianna Fáil has fallen given that 2011 was only the second time that they had failed to win two seats since this became a separate constituency in 1948.

The only other real point of interest is whether Senator James Heffernan can emulate his 2011 performance, when he came within 700 votes of taking a seat for Labour. But that was when Labour were on the crest of a wave - something that is unlikely to apply to his new party the Social Democrats, and certainly not in this part of the country.

Possible result:

  • 2 FG
  • 1 FF

Ivan's take: Yates is calling the result one for Fine Gael, one for Fianna Fáil and one Independent - as Councillor Emmett O'Brien, who was rejected by Fianna Fáil, will win Limerick County seat.

  • Seamus Browne - SF More Info:

    Seamus Browne is a local councilor for the Newcastle West area of Limerick. He was first elected in 2014 and received 9.7% of first preference votes. He believes in access to first class public services, affordable childcare, abolition of water charges, a fair tax system and advancing the all Ireland economy for everybody's benefit. 

  • Niall Collins - FF More Info:

    Niall Collins is a Fianna Fáil TD for Limerick. He was elected to the Dáil in 2011, receiving 20.8% of first preference votes. He is the nephew of former government minister Gerry Collins and the nephew of former Fianna Fáil TD Michael J Collins. He is the Fianna Fáil spokesperson on Justice and Equality.

  • Alexander Cosgrave - GP More Info:

    Alexander Cosgrave is a Politics student.

  • James Heffernan - SD More Info:

    James Heffernan was elected as a Labour Senator, but lost the party whip and has sat as an independent before joining the Social Democrats in 2015. He was elected to the Seanad in 2011 on the Agricultural Panel. Prior to being elected to the Seanad, he served as a councillor for the Kilmallock area of Limerick from 2009 to 2011. He unsuccessfully contested both the 2007 and 2011 general elections. 

  • Mark Keogh - IND More Info:

    Mark Keogh is the Irish Democratic Party candidate for Limerick. This is his first political election.

  • Tom Neville - FG More Info:

    Tom Neville is a Fine Gael Councillor for the Rathkeale area of Limerick. He was first co-opted to Limerick County Council in 2003, replacing his father Dan Neville after he was elected to the Dáil. He was re-elected in 2004 but did not contest the 2009 local elections, and was elected again in 2014. 

  • Emmett O'Brien - IND More Info:

    Emmet O'Brien is a farmer and barrister from Pallaskenry.

  • Richard O'Donoghue - IND More Info:

    O'Donoghue is a Councillor from Adare-Rathkeale and left Fiann Fáil because he couldn't get on the ticket.

  • Patrick O'Donovan - FG More Info:

    Patrick O’Donovan is a Fine Gael TD for Limerick. He was elected to the Dáil in 2011 with 19.1% of first preference votes. Prior to serving as a TD he was a local councillor for the area of Newcastle up until his election to the Dáil. 

  • John O'Gorman - IND More Info:

    John O'Gorman is running as an Independent.

Limerick County - First Preference Vote Share, General Election 2011