Constituency Profile: Limerick City

Quick facts:

  • 4-seater
  • 4 sitting TDs: Michael Noonan (FG), Kieran O'Donnell (FG), Jan O'Sullivan (LAB), Willie O'Dea (FF)
  • Ministerial representation: Michael Noonan, Fine Gael, Jan O’Sullivan, Labour
  • Population: 113,835
  • 2011 poll topper: Michael Noonan, Fine Gael
  • Most likely loser: Jan O’Sullivan, Labour
  • One to watch: Maurice Quinlivan, Sinne Fein

Michael Noonan and Willie O’Dea will romp home. Fianna Fáil recognises that they can only win one seat as they have only one candidate. However Fine Gael will hope that Noonan again produces a massive surplus and drag Kieran O’Donnell across the line as he did in 2011.

Jan O’Sullivan is in a major battle to keep her seat, and will be hoping that she has accumulated enough of a personal vote over the past 17 years to keep Sinn Féin at bay. There are many in Limerick who believed that - in the wake of the Jerry McCabe murder by members of the IRA - Sinn Féin would never be a viable contender in the constituency. However the economic crash seems to have changed that, and the party's candidate Maurice Quinlivan is determined to take advantage of it.

He topped the poll in the locals in Limerick City North ward with almost 2,500 votes and will believe that he can do better than his fifth place in 2011. However there are a lot of Independent and smaller party votes in the constituency and it remains to be seen if Sinn Féin will benefit from those.

Possible result:

  • 2 FG
  • 1 FF
  • 1 LAB

Ivan's take: Yates is calling the result as two for Fine Gael, one for Fianna Fáil and one for Sinn Féin - with the Education Minister losing her seat.

  • Nora Bennis - IND More Info:

    Nora Bennis is contesting the election for the Catholic Democrats as a pro-life candidate. She has contested 3 previous Dail elections the last in 2002 when she got less than 1%.

  • James Gaffney - GP More Info:

    Gaffney is a company director of an English language teaching company in Limerick.

  • Desmond Hayes - IND More Info:

    Desmond Hayes is a tax accountant who originally was to run for Renua but later withdrew. Now running as an Independent he failed to get elected in 2014 with 334 votes.

  • Sarah Jane Hennelly - SD More Info:

    Sarah Jane Hennelly is the Social Democrat candidate for Limerick City Centre. She unsuccessfully stood as an independent candidate for Limerick City, receiving 3.9% of the first preference votes. She currently works as a population health researcher.

  • Michael Noonan - FG More Info:

    Michael Noonan is a Fine Gael TD for Limerick and Minister for Finance in the 31st Dáil. He has been a TD for Limerick since 1981 and has served as a Minister is every Fine Gael led government since 1982. He was elected as leader of the Fine Gael party in 2001 but resigned following a poor result for the party at the 2002 general election. In the 2011 general elections he received 30.8% of first preference votes. 

  • Willie O'Dea - FF More Info:

    Willie O’Dea has been a Fianna Fáil politician for Limerick since 1982. He has served a Minister of State for a number of departments and as Minister for Defence from 2004 to 2010. He resigned as Minister for Defence following a motion of no confidence in him after his involvement in a defamation case against him.

  • Kieran O'Donnell - FG More Info:

    Kieran O’Donnell has been a TD for Limerick since 2011. He served as a councillor for the Castleconnell area of Limerick from 2004 until his election to the Dáil. He is a nephew of Tom O'Donnell, a former Minister and TD for Limerick East.

  • Jan O'Sullivan - LAB More Info:

    Jan O’Sullivan is a Labour TD and Minister for Education and Skills. She was a member of the Democratic Socialists from 1982 to 1990, when she joined the Labour Party. She has been a TD since 1998 and was a Senator from 1993 to 1997. She has been Minister for Education and Skills since July 2014. 

  • Cian Prendiville - AAA-PBP More Info:

    Cian Prendiville is an Anti Austerity Alliance local councillor in Limerick. He was first elected to the Limerick City and County Council in 2014, receiving 9.6% of first preference votes. In 2011 he unsuccessfully contested the general elections as a Socialist Party candidate, receiving 1.7% of first preference votes. 

  • Maurice Quinlivan - SF More Info:

    Maurice Quinlivan has been a local councillor in Limerick since 2009. He topped the poll in the Limerick City North area at the 2014 local elections, receiving 24.5% of first preference votes. He unsuccessfully contested the 2011 general elections, receiving 8.6% of first preference votes. 

  • Denis Riordan - IND More Info:

    Denis Riordan is a retired lecturer who is contesting his 11th election since 1987 for either European, Dail or Local seats. He has never obtained more than 1.95% of the vote.

Limerick City - First Preference Vote Share, General Election 2011