Constituency Profile: Kildare North

Quick facts:

  • 4-seater
  • 4 sitting TDs: Bernard Durkan (FG), Anthony Lawlor (FG), Emmett Stagg (LAB), Catherine Murphy (SD)
  • Ministerial representation: None
  • Population: 115,350
  • 2011 poll topper: Bernard Durkan, Fine Gael
  • Most likely loser: Bernard Durkan, Fine Gael
  • One to watch: James Lawless, Fianna Fáil

Catherine Murphy will top the poll and deliver a seat for the Social Democrats, which she co-founded. While no Labour seat could be said to be safe, Emmet Stagg is the closest that you can get and will win his eighth successive general election.

Fine Gael will be reduced to one seat, although whether it is Anthony Lawlor or Bernard Durkan will depend on who wins the expected Fianna Fáil seat. If Celbridge based Frank O’Rourke wins out from Sallins/Naas hopeful James Lawless, then it would leave Lawlor as the only likely TD from the south of the constituency. However Durkan is going for his tenth win, and Lawlor will not be counting any chickens.

Possible result:

  • 1 FG (-1)
  • 1 FF (+1)
  • 1 LAB
  • 1 SD (+1)
  • 0 IND (-1)

Ivan's take: Yates is calling the result as one for the Social Democrats, one for Fine Gael, one for Fianna Fáil and one for Labour - with Catherine Murphy topping the poll.

  • Michael Beirne - IND More Info:

    Michael Beirne is based in Celbridge. He got 430 votes in the 2014 Local Elections.

  • Réada Cronin - SF More Info:

    Reada Cronin is a Kildare County Councillor since 2014

  • Gerard Dunne - IND More Info:

    Gerard Dunne is from Naas and in 2014 ran for Labour in the Naas LEA. He failed to get elected when his 524 votes equated to 0.4 of a quota.

  • Bernard Durkan - FG More Info:

    Bernard Durkan was elected to the Dáil in 1981. He lost the seat in the February 1982 election, but regained the seat in the election of November that year and has held it at each election since. He served as a Minister of State for Social Welfare between 1994 and 1997. He is also a former Fine Gael chief whip. 

  • Shane Fitzgerald - REN More Info:

    Fitzgerald is a former Leixlip town councillor and runs a family chain of florists.

  • James Lawless - FF More Info:

    James Lawless was elected to Kildare County Council in 2014 having failed to win a seat in 2009. Originally from County Wexford he lived in Dublin before moving to Sallins to set up a family home. He has Bachelor and Masters degrees in Maths and Finance, and recently trained as a barrister. 

  • Anthony Lawlor - FG More Info:

    Anthony Lawlor was first elected to the Dáil in 2011 for Fine Gael. He was co-opted to Kildare County Council in 1998 following the death of his Mother who was a councillor. He was re-elected in 1999 as an Independent. He didn’t contest the 2004 local elections, and shortly afterwards joined Fine Gael before being elected to the council again for the party in 2009. He is also a full-time farmer. 

  • Ashling Merriman - AAA-PBP More Info:

    Ashling Merriman is a People Before Profit candidate for Kildare North. Ashling says she is "against the greed and corruption in this country when so many people are struggling and suffering to live a normal basic life"

  • Catherine Murphy - SD More Info:

    Catherine Murphy was first elected to the Dáil in the 2005 by-election to fill the seat of Charlie McCreevy. She lost her seat in the 2007 general election but was re-elected in 2011. She is a founding member and one of the leaders of the new Social Democrats party. 

  • Maebh Ni Fhalluin - GP More Info:

    Ni Fhalluin is an advocate for health issues with a particular emphasis on tackling obesity.

  • Frank O'Rourke - FF More Info:

    Frank O’Rourke was co-opted to Kildare County Council in 2012 and held the seat at the 2014 local elections. Originally from Leitrim, he has been living in Kildare for over 20 years. He is employed as Head of Operations for Irish Tar and Butumen Suppliers. 

  • Elizabeth O'Sullivan - IND More Info:

    Elizabeth O'Sullivan is a health care assistant from Celbridge. This is her first election.

  • Emmett Stagg - LAB More Info:

    Emmet Stagg has been a TD since 1987. He is currently the Labour Whip. While a Minister of State in 1984 he was the subject of a scandal when gardaí found him loitering in an area of the Phoenix Park that was frequented by male prostitutes. While questioned by gardaí, no charges were filed against him. 

  • Brendan Young - IND More Info:

    Brendan Young is a Kildare County Councillor since 2014 elected for the ‘Independent Community Solidarity Group’, which was formed in 2013 to campaign against the home and water taxes. 

Kildare North - First Preference Vote Share, General Election 2011