Constituency Profile: Dún Laoghaire

Quick facts: 

  • 4-seater but Ceann Comhairle re-elected, meaning 3-seater
  • Sitting TDs: Mary Mitchell-O'Connor (FG), Sean Barrett (FG), Eamon Gilmore (LAB), Rcihard Boyd-Barrett (AAA/PBP)
  • Ministerial Representation: None
  • Population: 118,791
  • 2011 poll topper: Eamon Gilmore, Labour Party
  • One to watch: Cormac Devlin, Fianna Fáil

If Sean Barrett runs then Fine Gael are assured of two seats. Richard Boyd Barrett and Mary Mitchell-O’Connor will be the first two elected, which will leave the final seat between Fianna Fáil and Labour - although the 9,500 voters coming in from the Foxrock area of Dublin South could just keep Fine Gael in the running for a third seat (assuming Sean Barrett runs).

It is very difficult to see how Labour can compensate for the loss of Eamon Gilmore’s personal vote, but the Labour transfers could edge Fine Gael ahead of Fianna Fáil.

However this is a crucial seat for Fianna Fáil and they will throw every resource at it - meaning that they could well just sneak home.

Possible result:

  • 2 FG
  • 1 FF (+1)
  • 1 AAA
  • 0 LAB (-1)

Ivan's take: Yates is calling the result as two for Fine Gael, one for Fianna Fáil and one for the Anti-Austerity Alliance People Before Profit group - with Fianna Fáil's Hanafin regaining her old seat in Dun Laoghaire.

  • Maria Bailey - FG More Info:

    Maria Bailey has been a Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Councillor since 2004. On the same day her father, John Bailey, was also elected to the Council. A sufferer of migraines since she was 16 years of age, she has also been active in creating awareness of the condition. She says she wants to bring a “realistic, grounded, energetic and refreshing approach to national politics”. 

  • Seán Barrett - FG More Info:

    Outgoing Ceann Comhairle Sean Barrett is elected automatically.

  • Richard Boyd-Barrett - AAA-PBP More Info:

    Richard Boyd Barrett was elected to the Dáil in 2011 after unsuccessfully contesting the 2002 and 2007 elections. He was elected to Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council in 2009. He was a founding member of the People Before Profit Alliance. He has campaigned against austerity measures as well as the bank bailouts and NAMA. 

  • Frank Cronin - REN More Info:

    Frank Cronin is one of the Renua Ireland candidates announced to contest the party's first general election. He is a former chief executive for Newstalk and the Sunday Tribune.

  • Cormac Devlin - FF More Info:

    Cormac Devlin is a Fianna Fáil Councillor on Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council since 2004. He defeated Mary Hanafin to get the party nomination, despite her getting the most first preference votes. He had warned the party that he would take legal action if they tried to impose a gender directive. Hanafin was subsequently added to the ticket by the party. 

  • Mary Hanafin - FF More Info:

    Mary Hanafin is a Councillor, former TD and former Minister. She lost her seat in 2011 and was elected to Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council in 2014. She was first elected to the Dáil in 1997 and won a seat until 2011. She served as Government Chief Whip, Minister for Education, Minister for Social and Family Affairs; Minister for Tourism, Culture and Sport; and briefly as Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Innovation in the dying days of the 30th Dáil. She was also briefly deputy leader of Fianna Fáil in 2011. 

  • Carol Hunt - IND More Info:

    Carol Hunt is a journalist (Sunday Independent) and describes herself as a feminist, atheist and social democrat. She’s running under the Independents Alliance banner in the general election. She’s a regular panellist on radio and tv. 

  • Mary Mitchell-O'Connor - FG More Info:

    Mary Mitchell O’Connor was elected to the Dáil in 2011 on her first attempt. She was elected to Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council as a Progressive Democrat in 2004. She joined Fine Gael in 2007 and was elected on that ticket in 2009. Mary made headlines in her first days in the Dáil when she drove her car across the plinth in Leinster House and down four large steps at the end of it. Among the issues that Mary focuses on are education and supporting small businesses. 

  • Shane O'Brien - SF More Info:

    Shane O’Brien was elected to Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council in 2014. He says the needs of people living in Dun Laoghaire must be met in a socially, economically and equitable manner.

  • Carrie Smyth - LAB More Info:

    Carrie Smyth was co-opted to Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council in 2003 following the death of her father Frank Smyth. She was re-elected in 2004, 2009 and 2014. 

  • Ossian Smyth - GP More Info:

    Ossian Smyth is a Green Party Councillor on Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council since 2014. He works as a Technical project Manager at Saint Vincent’s Hospital. He campaigns on what he says are the things that matter like maintaining roads, protecting beaches and parks, but opposes vanity projects in the area. 

  • Raymond Whitehead - IND More Info:

    Raymond Whitehead is based in Sandyford and got 120 votes in General Election 2011.

Dún Laoghaire - First Preference Vote Share, General Election 2011