Constituency Profile: Dublin South-Central

Quick facts:

  • 4-seater (-1)
  • Sitting TDs: Catherine Byrne (FG), Eric Byrne (LAB), Michael Conaghan (LAB), Aengus Ó Snodaigh (SF), Joan Collins (IND)
  • Ministerial representation: None
  • Population: 114,660
  • 2011 poll topper: Eric Byrne, Labour Party
  • Most likely loser: Eric Byrne, Labour Party
  • One to watch: Eric Byrne, Labour Party

The local election results pointed clearly to the destination of three of the four seats. Sinn Féin, Independent candidate Joan Collins and probably Bríd Smith of the People Before Profit Alliance will be in the Dáil. This will leave the final seat between outgoing TDs Catherine Byrne (Fine Gael) and Eric Byrne (Labour).

The loss of some 8,500 predominantly middle class votes in Terenure to Dublin Bay South gives little hope to Fianna Fáil. While in theory the change should impact Catherine Byrne, her status as the most (only?) working class TD in Fine Gael could well be the difference between her and her Labour namesake Eric Byrne.

Possible result:

  • 1 FG
  • 1 SF
  • 1 AAA
  • 1 IND (+1)
  • 0 LAB (-2)

Ivan Yates's take: Yates is calling the result as one Sinn Féin, one Independent, one Fine Gael and one Anti-Austerity Alliance - People Before Profit candidate.

  • Catherine Ardagh - FF More Info:

    Catherine Ardagh is a Dublin City Councillor since 2014. She also contested the 2009 elections but didn’t win a seat. A solicitor, she is the daughter of former Fianna Fáil TD, Seán Ardagh. 

  • Neville Bradley - IND More Info:

    Neville Bradley is a Fire Services M and is leading light in the right2water movement. He was an unsuccessful candidate in the 2011 and 2014 elections.

  • Catherine Byrne - FG More Info:

    Catherine Byrne has been a TD since 2007. She had stood in the 2002 election, but failed to win a seat.She also contested the 1999 by-election caused by the death of Labour’s Pat Upton. She was also a Dublin City Councillor from 1999 and served as Lord Mayor in 2005-2006. She has completed a two year Lay Ministry Course and has a diploma in catering. She was also the leader of St Michael’s Folk and Gospel group for 15 years. 

  • Eric Byrne - LAB More Info:

    Eric Byrne was elected in 2011 after a 14-year absence from the Dáil. After making attemots in 1977, 1981,1982 and 1987 general elections he was finally elected in 1989. He lost the seat in 1992 after a marathon 10-day count. He was re-elected in a by-election in 1994, but lost the seat again in 1997. He was again unsuccessful in the 2002 and 2007 elections. He’s a former member of Official Sinn Fein, the Worker’s Party and Democratic Left. 

  • Joan Collins - IND More Info:

    Joan Collins was elected in 2011 on her second general election attempt. She was a Dublin City Councillor since 2004. She has been involved in many campaigns such as opposing the bin tax, property charges and water charges. She left the Socialist party before joining the People Before Profit Alliance. In turn she left that alliance during the 31st Dáil and with Clare Daly established ‘United Left’. 

  • Liam Coyne - SD More Info:

    Coyne is a business man and law graduate. He is also the current round Britain and Ireland sailing champion.

  • Marie Devine - SF More Info:

    Maire Devine is a South Dublin County Councillor. She was co-opted to the seat following the election of Seán Crowe in Dublin South West in 2011. She topped the poll in Tallaght Central in the 2014 local elections. She had been mentioned as a contender to contest the Dublin South West by-election in the last Dáil, but the party chose Cathal King as the candidate. She is now the second candidate in the neighbouring Dublin South Central. 

  • Michael Gargan - REN More Info:

    Gargan is from Kimmage and has a computer repair shop. He cites tackling crime, supporting working parents and local small business as his key priorities.

  • Paul Hand - IND More Info:

    Paul Hand is an Independent Councillor for the Ballyfermot-Drimnagh ward. He says Dublin South Central constituents "have been badly let down by the same old politicians, practicing the same old politics".

  • Richard Murray - IND More Info:

    Richard Murray is trying to ‘crowdfund’ his election bid. Richard says he and his partner have lived in the constituency for over 30 years. He says he has a knowledge and understanding of the social and economical issues experienced by the communities in the constituency. 

  • Oisín Ó hAlmhain - GP More Info:

    Oisin O’hAlmhain unsuccessfully contested this constituency in 2011, getting 2% of the vote. He works as a hospital pharmacist. He contested the 2014 local elections but wasn’t elected, getting less than 4% of the vote in his ward.

  • Aengus Ó Snodaigh - SF More Info:

    Aengus O’Snidaigh was first elected to the Dáil in 2002 and at each election since. He is the party’s Dáil whip and spokesperson on Social Protection. It was reported during the 31st Dáil that the amount of ink cartridges he had used as a TD amounted to more than 434 over a two year period, at a cost of more than €50,000.

  • Brid Smith - AAA-PBP More Info:

    Brid Smith is a Dublin City Councillor since 2006. She has contested various general and European elections. She has been involved in many campaigns and was a spokesperson for the anti-bin tax campaign. In 2014 she contested the Dublin constituency in the European elections and effectively split the ‘left vote’. Some quarters felt this move resulted in the loss of Paul Murphy’s European seat. She has been at the forefront of many water protests. 

Dublin South-Central - First Preference Vote Share, General Election 2011