Constituency Profile: Roscommon-Galway

Quick facts:

  • New 3-seater
  • 3 sitting TDs: Frank Feighan (FG), Michael Fitzmaurice (IND), Denis Naughten (IND)
  • Population: 84,586
  • 2011 poll topper (Roscommon/South Leitrim): Denis Naughten, Fine Gael (now Independent)
  • 2014 by-election poll topper (Roscommon/South Leitrim): Ivan Connaughton, Fianna Fáil (not elected - Independent Michael Fitzmaurice won seat)
  • One to watch: Maura Hopkins, Fine Gael

The only safe bet is by-election victor Michael Fitzmaurice, who inherited the “Ming” Flanagan seat. With the south Leitrim part of the old constituency gone, the replacement area of 14,000 voters from east Galway - including Ballinasloe and east Tuam - may well have a decisive influence on at least one of the other two seats - and the Tuam side is actually Fitzmaurice’s base.

The local election and by-election results point to Fianna Fáil winning back a seat, but Ivan Connaughton has fallen out with the party and has threatened to run as an Independent. Fine Gael are also in disarray as Frank Feighan will not defend his seat following controversy over the Roscommon Hospital issue.

That same issue caused Denis Naughten to leave Fine Gael three months after the 2011 election, and he will contest as an Independent.

Sinn Féin hope that they may slip in under the radar, but as only one of their three candidates in Roscommon got elected in 2014 that hope appears forlorn.

Possible result:

  • 1 FF (+1)
  • 2 IND (+1)
  • 0 FG (-2)

Ivan's take: Yates is calling the result as two Independents and one seat for Fine Gael - as long as Shane Curran does not run. If he does, he could take the seat.

  • Tony Coleman - IND More Info:

    Tony Coleman is from Loughglynn and received 140 votes in Boyle LEA in 2014.

  • Eddie Conroy - AAA-PBP More Info:

    Eddie Conroy is the People Before Profit Alliance candidate for the Roscommon Galway constituency. He believes that successive governments have constantly ignored and neglected the area of Roscommon and is hoping to change that.

  • Shane Curran - FF More Info:

    Curren has re-entered the race having previously withdrawn for personal reasons. He is the former Roscommon goalkeeper.

  • Thomas Fallon - IND More Info:

    Thomas Fallon is from Tulsk and this is his first election.

  • Anne Farrell - REN More Info:

    Anne Farrell is the Renua Candidate for the Roscommon Galway constituency. She has years of experience in the healthcare sector and has previously worked with the Irish Wheelchair Association and with the HSE. She is the sister of Labour senator John Kelly and Michael D Higgins was one of her tutors when she completed an undergraduate degree in NUI Galway. 

  • Michael Fitzmaurice - IND More Info:

    Michael Fitzmaurice was elected to the Dáil at the 2014 Roscommon – South Leitrim by-election. He runs an agricultural and turf contracting business and is the chair of the Turf Cutters and Contractors Association. He was elected to Galway County Council for the Tuam area at the 2014 local elections. He is running under the Independent Alliance banner.

  • Miriam Hennesy - GP More Info:

    Hennesy has been in GP since 1987 and is campaigning for effective and fully accountable planning decisions.

  • Maura Hopkins - FG More Info:

    Maura Hopkins was elected as a Roscommon County Councillor in 2014. She is an occupational therapist and unsuccessfully contested the 2014 by-election receiving 16.8% of first preference votes. 

  • John Kelly - LAB More Info:

    John Kelly has been a Senator since April 2011. Before being elected to the Seanad he served as an independent councillor for Roscommon. He ran unsuccessfully in the 2011 general elections, receiving 9.4% of first preference votes. 

  • Claire Kerrane - SF More Info:

    Claire Kerrane is the Sinn Fein candidate for the Roscommon Galway constituency. She is a Professional Masters of Education student at NUI Galway and is the youngest candidate in the constituency at age 22. 

  • Eugene Murphy - FF More Info:

    Murphy is based in Boyle and has been a councillor since 1985.

  • Denis Naughten - IND More Info:

    Denis Naughten has been a TD for Roscommon South-Leitrim since 2007. He was a member of the Fine Gael party until July 2011 when lost the party whip for voting against the government’s decision to close the emergency department at Roscommon Hospital. He now sits as an Independent. 

Roscommon-Galway - First Preference Vote Share, General Election 2011